Nutmeg Feather Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Delicious cake! Very light with nicely crisped edges. I made mine in to cupcakes and they stuck to the liner so next time I will stick with a cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these as cupcakes, and followed the recipe almost exactly as stated except that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. They take about 20 minutes instead of 40 as cupcakes. These were for my son's 2nd Birthday party. They were a hit! From my 94 year old grandma to my 15 year old nephew (who had 2 or 3!) The flavor was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cupcake and they tasted scratch baked, rather than from-the-box. I topped with cream cheese frosting that was store bought because I didn't have time to make any. A really nice recipe: back to basics, nothing flashy or exotic, just plain yummy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This cake is wonderful, light and moist. And, another great recipe that uses buttermilk. I baked it in a 16"x4"x4" long loaf pan. I was looking for a spice cake and this worked perfectly. I frosted with the frosting from 'New Duchess Spice Cake w/ Maple Frosting' from AR. A delicious cake that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delish! This cake came out great! So easy. The changes I made, which were very small, was I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, as another reviewer suggested, then I added a pinch of cloves and a pinch of ginger just because I love spices. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for the great recipe JANYEO4. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It was quite easy to make i liked it but if u are not used to the spice i recommend to reduce the amount of nutmeg my bf said its ok too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This cake was GREAT! I made it exactly as directed except that I used a bundt pan, no icing and I had to make my own buttermilk. So if you don't have buttermilk at home you can still make this recipe. Just put 1 tablespoon of white vinegar in a measuring cup and add milk until you reach the 1 cup mark and let sit for 5min. Really easy cake to make, it was eaten in 1 day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this cake for my sister in law's birthday, and it was DELICIOUS. I subbed nutmeg for cinnamon like other reviewers because of necessity, and made a caramel cinnamon glaze. I also used butter because that was all I had. This cake was moist but not crumbly, and definitely not too overwhelmingly spice-like. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
OMG! This cake is absolutely delicious, perfectly spiced and has just the right about of sweetness. It's so moist and yes, just as the title states - it's light as a feather! I used butter flavored shortening and instead of all nutmeg I used 1 tsp. of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I made this into a dozen cupcakes using a Texas sized muffin tin. I definitely agree that this is best with a buttercream icing so I chose "Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting" from this site and replaced some of the cream with real maple syrup for a maple buttercream which gave it a light maple flavor. I piped that over top and then sprinkled a little nutmeg over top. These were so good that I'll most certainly be making these again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
As I looked over the recipe I just knew this was going to be good. First, the combination of butter (for flavor) and shortening (because butter cakes can be dry). And then the buttermilk - I don't think I've ever been disappointed with a cake recipe that called for it. As for the nutmeg, it's not that I thought there was anything wrong with using just nutmeg, but I wanted the more balanced flavor of both cinnamon and nutmeg - I used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and was happy with that ratio. I baked this as cupcakes, 350 degrees, 18-20 minutes. The title is very appropriate, as these are fluffy and really ARE "light as a feather" - no mistaking this for a pound cake or muffin at all! And just as I had suspected, the shortening and buttermilk did make these moist. I do disagree with the submitter on one point, however. She suggests this is best with a cream cheese frosting and I think that would be too heavy for this cake. I had some of my vanilla buttercream frosting left over so I just gave it a few good shakes of cinnamon, whipped it up again, and used it on these cupcakes. It was perfect! Very nice recipe, and certainly appropriate for this autumn season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Out of necessity, I used all butter and did the vinegar in milk trick for the buttermilk. I baked this in a 10" bundt pan, which made the cooking time 5 to 10 minutes longer. Topped it with a vanilla glaze. The texture is as my husband put it, very fluffy, as he helped himself to a second slice. Thanks for a delicious cake Jayne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States