Nutmeg Cookie Logs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I am so happy to have found this recipe. I used to make these cookies at Christmas and lost the recipe many years ago. I would not use the red food coloring but the rest of the recipe looks exactly like the one I used. Can't wait to make these for the family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Really good! For some reason my dough wouldn't roll into logs, so I just made them into little round cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent and easy! The flavor is unbeatable. I did not use red food coloring; they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaJulie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
My family has been making these cookies for Christmas for over 40 years. Only, we don't dye the frosting and we run a fork through the frosting and sprinkle with nutmeg. It gives it the appearance of a log and tastes spectacular! They are my absolute favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlynn4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I love these cookies! I omitted all rum, did not color the icing and sprinkled with nutmeg on top. The icing really makes this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissathebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
PLEASE do not color the icing! This cookie is meant to LOOK like a LOG; thus, score the icing with fork tines and sprinkle with nutmeg. Icing can't be too thin, or you won't accomplish the look of rough bark. I ship these off to my brother and sister every Christmas, as this cookie has been a family tradition. It has carried over to MY children. This is one of two cookies REQUIRED at Christmas. No rum in mine, and I actually use half unsalted butter, half margarine, which gives me the taste and texture I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
These were great - I had just returned from St Lucia and wanted to make something using the fresh nutmeg I brought back. I used rum (also from St Lucia) instead of rum extract. I rolled them into logs and then put the ends together to make rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicki G
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
OMG! This cookie is so simple, I didn't even have to make a trip to the store for anything. And WOW! These cookies, with the icing, have the perfect taste for Christmas. I'm taking them for dinner on Christmas Eve, and I should wait to get feedback before reviewing, but it doesn't matter what anyone else tells me, I'm making these cookies again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I love nutmeg cookie logs! We have used this recipe for years and also don't color the frosting. We use a star tip to frost & also sprinkle with nutmeg. A holiday favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Would give these cookies 10 stars if I could. Just WONDERFUL! I did use the nutmeg sprinkle on top (like the first reviewer) instead of the food coloring. I had 14 people over for Christmas Eve, and over a dozen different kinds of Christmas cookies (had help) and this one EVERYONE raved about. A definate keeper. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

All about Nutmeg

Learn all about the little brown seed with the big, big flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States