Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Excellent!!! So far I've made them 2 times(for family and very close friends) and have gotten nothing but RAVE reviews. The only problem is they have split in a few places each time. PLEASE let me know what can be done to stop that from happening. I've even reduced the yeast in half the 2nd time...no luck! I'd love to make them and give them to co-workers and neighbors, but can't with the way they look. Help!!! These are too good to give up on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME I HAVE MADE NUT ROLLS/KOLACHI,THEY TURNED OUT GREAT. MY TWO YEAR OLD LOVES THEM TOO. ONLY THING I NOTICED WAS IT SEEMED A MISPRINT ON THE YEAST, I USED 1/4 OUNCE OF YEAST (1 PACKET)AND THEY TURNED OUT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
You're the greatest Karren! I've been making nut rolls with my Slovak grandpa for about 5 years now (it's become tradition), and I decided to try this recipe instead of the one we've always used. This recipe was so much better and easier than the one we were using. The recipe we previously used required two different rising steps and took about 3 hours longer than this recipe. The rolls also tasted so much better. We used the nut filling recipe (with a few tablespoons of milk added), and it was delicious. We also filled some with fruit instead of nut (we use Solo fruit filling because it is a good consistency for these rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALHAAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Ok, I feel so bad about leaving such a low rating. And usually when I don't like something, I just don't rate it at all. But I am so completely disappointed with this recipe... and mostly because of the reviews! Only one negative one out of all I looked at and it referred to pecans which isn't even in this recipe! But I followed this recipe to the T. I used it because of the reviewers claiming the likeness to Kolachi. This is NOTHING like the kolachi I grew up with. Yes, the dough had a great flavor, maybe a little sweet for Kolachi, and it was easy to work with. But the recipe did not tell you the thickness to roll out the dough or what area to roll it out (ie - 12x10). So because other reviewers claimed the "perfect" kolachi recipe I rolled it as I would when making kolachi. It did not rise at all. The dough turned out tough on the outside and too doughy on the inside. And they also stuck to the pan. Like I said, I followed this recipe to the T. The recipe does not say to grease the pans so I didn't and usually wouldn't for this type of recipe. I feel this recipe just leaves out too much info or I'm very wrong in thinking that nut roll is just another word for kolachi. So I just thought I'd leave this review for those who might assume as I did. I believe the dough would make for a great Kolacky cookie however. And I just might give that a try because the dough is good, sweet and easy to work with. I also felt that the nut filling is delicious as well. Sorry f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these yesterday and they turned out great. I found a way to avoid cracking of the dough I think. I chilled the dough for approxamately 3 hours prior to using it. I also did not brush with the egg before baking. I also rolled mine into multiple small 5X4 inch rolls and make dozens of them. they come out great! I have been making nut rolls for years and this dough is the best I have worked with and has such a good sweet taste. Thanks for sharing. I need to make a new batch already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is the best nut roll recipe I have ever came across.It makes alot but they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic and Easy! This is so easy to make and they are always practically gone as I pull them from the oven! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumz2Busy (Rose)
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I just finished making a batch of these nut rolls and they turned out wonderful! This has to be the easiest dough I ever worked with.After I rolled them I put them on a cookie sheet and flattened them slightly. I brushed with beated egg white and sprinkled with sugar which gave these nutrolls a crunchy top.I only baked a few at a time on one cookie sheet in the middle of oven for exactly 30 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks Karen for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
THANK YOU for this wonderful recipe! This was my first attempt to make nut rolls. They came out GREAT! I did add some brown sugar to the nut mixture, about 3/4 cup. Also,I did have to bake them a little longer than it said to, but I rolled them short (about 10 inches long) so that's probably why. Other than that, I changed nothing. Everyone I gave one to LOVED it! The only thing I would change is to perhaps let them rise a bit before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the 2nd year I have made these and I kept wondering what I did wrong this year. I made 2 batches and almost every nut roll split. I looked on the internet and I think this recipe uses too much yeast. These nut rolls taste delicious, but I'm only giving this 4 stars because they split. Next year, I will only use 2 packets of yeast. According to the recipe, it says 1 oz of yeast - a packet is 1/4 oz so I used 4. Hopefully, 2 packets will work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States