Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Never made a nut roll before but wanted to surprise hubby who always mentions his mother used to make these. Turned out "delicious" per him and they are pretty looking. I followed the recipe pretty closely. There seemed to be a real lot of filling. Perhaps because I formed these like long roll coffee cake instead of individual rolls. Will make again as this was pretty simple and results were great for a first try. Next time I will work on making rolls more uniform or into a design. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I agree w LTISONE. These nut rolls are good and this is the 2nd yr. I've made them, but they do like to crack. The yeast doesn't seem to do any good, either because they don't rise at all so they come out a little smaller than I would like. Would be curious to know what size rectangle she rolls the dough. I think the recipe needs a lot of tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe for nutrolls. I used a different nut filling (cinnamon doesn't do anything for me in nut rolls) and made 1/2 of the rolls with poppy filling. The only change I made to the recipe was I added an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream (not intentionally, I got carried away and put too much in talking while I was making the dough) and I did let them raise for 90 minutes before sliding into the oven. I would note that this makes 6 med rolls - I can't imagine making 7 out of this unless you really like small ones. I think this is one of the nicest doughs I have ever worked with - mixed nicely, rolled easily. just don't roll too thin. this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this again this year.Couple of adjustments, 3/4 cup white sugar instead of the 1 cup and 2 lbs of walnuts instead of 2 1/2 lbs. For the nut mixture, 1 cup of sugar was plenty. This makes plenty, I plan to send it to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these yesterday and they turned out great. I found a way to avoid cracking of the dough I think. I chilled the dough for approxamately 3 hours prior to using it. I also did not brush with the egg before baking. I also rolled mine into multiple small 5X4 inch rolls and make dozens of them. they come out great! I have been making nut rolls for years and this dough is the best I have worked with and has such a good sweet taste. Thanks for sharing. I need to make a new batch already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Fantastic and Easy! This is so easy to make and they are always practically gone as I pull them from the oven! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumz2Busy (Rose)
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Excellent!!! So far I've made them 2 times(for family and very close friends) and have gotten nothing but RAVE reviews. The only problem is they have split in a few places each time. PLEASE let me know what can be done to stop that from happening. I've even reduced the yeast in half the 2nd time...no luck! I'd love to make them and give them to co-workers and neighbors, but can't with the way they look. Help!!! These are too good to give up on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the 2nd year I have made these and I kept wondering what I did wrong this year. I made 2 batches and almost every nut roll split. I looked on the internet and I think this recipe uses too much yeast. These nut rolls taste delicious, but I'm only giving this 4 stars because they split. Next year, I will only use 2 packets of yeast. According to the recipe, it says 1 oz of yeast - a packet is 1/4 oz so I used 4. Hopefully, 2 packets will work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Ok, I feel so bad about leaving such a low rating. And usually when I don't like something, I just don't rate it at all. But I am so completely disappointed with this recipe... and mostly because of the reviews! Only one negative one out of all I looked at and it referred to pecans which isn't even in this recipe! But I followed this recipe to the T. I used it because of the reviewers claiming the likeness to Kolachi. This is NOTHING like the kolachi I grew up with. Yes, the dough had a great flavor, maybe a little sweet for Kolachi, and it was easy to work with. But the recipe did not tell you the thickness to roll out the dough or what area to roll it out (ie - 12x10). So because other reviewers claimed the "perfect" kolachi recipe I rolled it as I would when making kolachi. It did not rise at all. The dough turned out tough on the outside and too doughy on the inside. And they also stuck to the pan. Like I said, I followed this recipe to the T. The recipe does not say to grease the pans so I didn't and usually wouldn't for this type of recipe. I feel this recipe just leaves out too much info or I'm very wrong in thinking that nut roll is just another word for kolachi. So I just thought I'd leave this review for those who might assume as I did. I believe the dough would make for a great Kolacky cookie however. And I just might give that a try because the dough is good, sweet and easy to work with. I also felt that the nut filling is delicious as well. Sorry f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very easy to make! Dough is not sticky at all. Rolls out very easily. I had to bake mine a little longer, more like 40 mins. Followed recipe exactly, turned out great. Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States