Nut Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is the 2nd year I have made these and I kept wondering what I did wrong this year. I made 2 batches and almost every nut roll split. I looked on the internet and I think this recipe uses too much yeast. These nut rolls taste delicious, but I'm only giving this 4 stars because they split. Next year, I will only use 2 packets of yeast. According to the recipe, it says 1 oz of yeast - a packet is 1/4 oz so I used 4. Hopefully, 2 packets will work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monessen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Ok, I feel so bad about leaving such a low rating. And usually when I don't like something, I just don't rate it at all. But I am so completely disappointed with this recipe... and mostly because of the reviews! Only one negative one out of all I looked at and it referred to pecans which isn't even in this recipe! But I followed this recipe to the T. I used it because of the reviewers claiming the likeness to Kolachi. This is NOTHING like the kolachi I grew up with. Yes, the dough had a great flavor, maybe a little sweet for Kolachi, and it was easy to work with. But the recipe did not tell you the thickness to roll out the dough or what area to roll it out (ie - 12x10). So because other reviewers claimed the "perfect" kolachi recipe I rolled it as I would when making kolachi. It did not rise at all. The dough turned out tough on the outside and too doughy on the inside. And they also stuck to the pan. Like I said, I followed this recipe to the T. The recipe does not say to grease the pans so I didn't and usually wouldn't for this type of recipe. I feel this recipe just leaves out too much info or I'm very wrong in thinking that nut roll is just another word for kolachi. So I just thought I'd leave this review for those who might assume as I did. I believe the dough would make for a great Kolacky cookie however. And I just might give that a try because the dough is good, sweet and easy to work with. I also felt that the nut filling is delicious as well. Sorry f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Very easy to make! Dough is not sticky at all. Rolls out very easily. I had to bake mine a little longer, more like 40 mins. Followed recipe exactly, turned out great. Thanks for the easy and tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I thought this was not a good use of pecans. Sorry but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockport, Texas, USA
Living In: Keokuk, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Perfect, perfect, perfect! I add a smidge of extra cinnamon. But this dough is so easy to work with--no more broken-open, oozing nut rolls! This is a bit of a sweeter dough, so it makes more of a "desserty" nut roll than a savory one. But that's what I was looking for. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I have been trying to find the perfect nut roll recipe and I believe this one is it. I got so many compliments. the one thing I did was add honey to my filling. very good and relatively easy condisering some others I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misty petrucci
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was my first attempt to make nut rolls and they turned out awsome everyone loved them but the amount of filling it says to make is a little to much so i put they rest in the freezer for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I just finished making a batch of these nut rolls and they turned out wonderful! This has to be the easiest dough I ever worked with.After I rolled them I put them on a cookie sheet and flattened them slightly. I brushed with beated egg white and sprinkled with sugar which gave these nutrolls a crunchy top.I only baked a few at a time on one cookie sheet in the middle of oven for exactly 30 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks Karen for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Nut rolls turned out great! But for the filling I cut the butter in half and the sugar and I got rave reviews on them. It did not take the quality down just the fat and sugar. They were still great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was awesome. The only change I made was half brown and half white sugar for the nut mixture.Very easy to make. I just wish I could cut down on the butter a bit without changing the taste. I am making for the second time as I type this. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Caramel Pecan Rolls

See how to make amazing 5-star sweet rolls.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States