Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but I changed it up. I didn't have any walnuts in the house, so I used the 2tsp of vanilla instead of the almond extract and 1C mini-chocolate chips instead of the walnuts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies are fantastic. We've made these every year with a different recipe for our holiday cookie day and this recipe turned out great. Even better than the old recipe I had. I am so glad I tried this. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay Kay Hot Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these with pecans run through my food processor, and they came out DELICIOUSLY. I did roll them once while still warm but also rolled them a second time after they had cooled. This is such a necessary step that I'm amazed it didn't appear in the original recipe; otherwise, your cookies have a bunch of "bled-through" places where the oils work through the confectioner's sugar -- most notably where your fingers touched it when rolling while warm and then placing on whatever you used for a cooling rack. Having made a double batch, I stored them in a plastic one-gallon ice cream tub with a sheet of waxed paper between each layer of cookies. Before setting any cookies on each sheet of waxed paper, I sprinkled more confectioner's sugar on the paper. I also sprinkled the tops of each layer of cookies before placing the next sheet of waxed paper. This seems to be helping them stay fresh, as well as keeping the cookies looking just as good as they taste. I will definitely make this again; I could eat an entire batch all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yes! These are absolutely NUT BUTTER BALLS! I followed the directions exactly. Made 9 dozen (that's 108 cookies, recipe actually made more so don't be afraid to make them a little bigger) for a Cookie Exchange Party for the Holidays. They are just like I remembered as a child. I used the vanilla extract and used less walnuts (finely ground) as a reviewer suggested. RICH with butter ~ DELICIOUS not too sweet ~ THE BEST combination of butter, powdered sugar and walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These cookies are AWESOME and super easy to make. My teenage daughter makes them all the time because she loves them so much. The cookie jar is always empty in a couple of days and she always doubles the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I added a little extra Almond extract and these cookies were awesome. They were a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
These are great with chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
They were great! Really easy. We ended up using only 1/2 inch balls/cresents, because the 1 inch crescents became way to big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Very good. A tad floury in taste but I'm pretty sure that was my fault for not measuring exactly right. I will definately be making again. I think I'll experiment with a little extra sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I took these to work for our Christmas celebration. They all loved them! Several asked for the recipe to give to their spouses. I will decrease the nuts to one cup next time but that is all. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States