Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these with pecans run through my food processor, and they came out DELICIOUSLY. I did roll them once while still warm but also rolled them a second time after they had cooled. This is such a necessary step that I'm amazed it didn't appear in the original recipe; otherwise, your cookies have a bunch of "bled-through" places where the oils work through the confectioner's sugar -- most notably where your fingers touched it when rolling while warm and then placing on whatever you used for a cooling rack. Having made a double batch, I stored them in a plastic one-gallon ice cream tub with a sheet of waxed paper between each layer of cookies. Before setting any cookies on each sheet of waxed paper, I sprinkled more confectioner's sugar on the paper. I also sprinkled the tops of each layer of cookies before placing the next sheet of waxed paper. This seems to be helping them stay fresh, as well as keeping the cookies looking just as good as they taste. I will definitely make this again; I could eat an entire batch all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
After reading all of the reviews I decided to have a go at doing some things a little differently than the original recipe. First, I remember these cookies having that delicious almond aroma, it just pulls you in by the nose tempting you to take a bite. So, instead of using what the recipe calls for I substituted 1/2 tsp almond extract and a tsp of vanilla. Next, on the first batch, instead of rolling them into balls, I used a small butter scoop and put them on the cookie sheet with that. The second batch, I rolled into balls. After baking, they are both the same shape, flat on the bottom and domed on top. So why go to all of the trouble to roll them? I don't care if they are balls, they are still beautiful. Last, I only used one cup of pecans. These delicate little cookies dissolve in your mouth in a bite of tender, buttery, pecan flavored goodness. Served with a nice latte... they are a little bite of heaven. My husband says "It doesn't get any better than this!" Thank you for sharing the recipe and to all of you who offered suggestions. Hmmm... I wonder how these would taste if I put ______ in them *WEG*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is the same recipe as the one I know as "almond balls." My recipe uses only a 1/2 tsp of almond extract and just 1 cup of finely-chopped almonds; otherwise it is identical. These are easy to make and each one is a tasty, powdery mouthful of subtle almond flavor. This is one of the desserts featured at our group's Norwegian julebords in Thousand Oaks and Santa Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a very good recipe, but I changed it up. I didn't have any walnuts in the house, so I used the 2tsp of vanilla instead of the almond extract and 1C mini-chocolate chips instead of the walnuts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These cookies are AWESOME and super easy to make. My teenage daughter makes them all the time because she loves them so much. The cookie jar is always empty in a couple of days and she always doubles the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These were DELICIOUS! I wouldn't change a thing. They came out light and just melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
These turned out just like I wanted them to. I made the dough and threw it in the fridge while I made another cookie recipe. By the time I was done it was firm enough to roll up and pop in the oven. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Fantastic cookies! I used vanilla extract instead of almond as recommended because that is what I had on hand. These will be a regular cookie recipe, that's for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
thank you ! they were absoulely great. I didnt rolled eat with sugar since my cookies is already sweet. but anyways , I would love to do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have enjoyed this recipe for years but decided to try something different. I rolled the dough around a dark-chocolate Hershey's kiss. WOW - so good (especially if you eat it warm while the chocolate is still melt-y)! I rolled in powdered sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States