Nut Burgers (Vegetarian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
As is, these burgers have a great texture and appearance but the taste is really bland. I think it's the ranch dressing and cheese they add in the original recipe that gives them any taste whatsoever. I mean, you can taste nuts...but that's about it. I don't eat cheese or ranch dressing, so I wouldn't dress them up with those ingredients. I took the first version of this recipe and covered them in tomato sauce and ate them that way. It was OK. The next time I made them I made modifications based on a previous recipe I'd found for vegan 'meatballs', adding chili powder, pureed cooked peppers, garlic, liquid smoke, balsamic vinegar, nutritional yeast, miso and onions. HUGE difference. This version was great! I really love lots of flavor, as well as a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FLUFFYPEANUT
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These were the best veggie burgers I've ever had! They tasted like regular ground beef cheeseburgers!! We will definitely make this a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLUFFYPEANUT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Easy, tasty. Freezes great! Regular repeat for me. Thank you, Jade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Really yummy. Even the non-vegetarians loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The second time around my family really enjoyed these. The first time they were really dry and fell apart really bad. The second time I made them I ground the walnuts and sunflower seeds really fine and added 2 eggs. They held together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Will this replace a burger for a non-vegetarian? no. But does it taste great? Yes!!! The flavor was great! the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they did not hold too well. To help with this, I made mini-burgers, and made sure that they chared a bit on each side. It did help some, but did not completely eliminate the problem. I will still make them though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe is easy to make and makes more than the recipe says. I had enough to make double the amount. I served it with Root Vegetable Chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The taste is good, but I found it very difficult to make the mix into proper patties. I ended up just spooning the mix into the pita - it was great, but not a burger, just a sandwich filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I thought this was a great template for soy-free veggie burgers. I didn't have chick peas, so I used black beans. I didn't have parsely or the ranch. The patty itself left a lot to be desired in the way of taste--BUT I put cheese, avacado and ketchup on it and then it was fine. I think this recipe is very flexible. The key ingredients being mashed beans, nuts for texture and egg to hold it together. Then you can add all sorts of things to give it flavor. I should have added some more seasonings to boost the flavor, but I was in a hurry. I did chill my mix in the freezer for about 10 minutes to make it less gooey and that seemed to help the burger hold up well. As someone who abhores walnuts and isn't a fan of sunflower seeds-- I was impressed that the nuts didn't bother me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were wonderful. I spiced them up a bit and through all the ingredients in a processor for a short burst to help with the sticking problem. Added garlic, basil, liquid smoke, and some Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States