Nut Burgers (Vegetarian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I didn't follow directions very well, not cooking the nuts, not thinking and adding 2 tbsp. of olive oil to the recipe (still not sure about that one), but I liked these burgers. I am taking them to a potluck, so I made several small burgers. I think they will go over very well. I'm new to vegan cooking and have been concerned about really bland food. These seem to have lots of flavor. I need to make up some sauce to serve them with, bc I won't be serving them with buns. Back to a recipe search!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
First of all, I'd say this definitely serves 3-4, not just 2. I made it into 3 patties, and the burgers were still huge. I first tried chopping everything by hand and smashing the chickpeas with a fork, but the mixture didn't hold together - it was way too dry and crumbly. So I transferred it to a food processor, which did the trick, and the patties held together. Definitely use a food processor or blender! It actually did taste kind of meaty, but I think I'd prefer different seasoning. I'll probably try making it again, but I'll divide it into 4 patties, and experiment with spices - maybe Italian seasoning, or southwest seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
As is, these burgers have a great texture and appearance but the taste is really bland. I think it's the ranch dressing and cheese they add in the original recipe that gives them any taste whatsoever. I mean, you can taste nuts...but that's about it. I don't eat cheese or ranch dressing, so I wouldn't dress them up with those ingredients. I took the first version of this recipe and covered them in tomato sauce and ate them that way. It was OK. The next time I made them I made modifications based on a previous recipe I'd found for vegan 'meatballs', adding chili powder, pureed cooked peppers, garlic, liquid smoke, balsamic vinegar, nutritional yeast, miso and onions. HUGE difference. This version was great! I really love lots of flavor, as well as a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Renee Nguyen
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These were the best veggie burgers I've ever had! They tasted like regular ground beef cheeseburgers!! We will definitely make this a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Easy, tasty. Freezes great! Regular repeat for me. Thank you, Jade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Really yummy. Even the non-vegetarians loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
The second time around my family really enjoyed these. The first time they were really dry and fell apart really bad. The second time I made them I ground the walnuts and sunflower seeds really fine and added 2 eggs. They held together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Will this replace a burger for a non-vegetarian? no. But does it taste great? Yes!!! The flavor was great! the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because they did not hold too well. To help with this, I made mini-burgers, and made sure that they chared a bit on each side. It did help some, but did not completely eliminate the problem. I will still make them though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe is easy to make and makes more than the recipe says. I had enough to make double the amount. I served it with Root Vegetable Chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
The taste is good, but I found it very difficult to make the mix into proper patties. I ended up just spooning the mix into the pita - it was great, but not a burger, just a sandwich filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States