Nova Scotian Hodge Podge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
This passes for a nice stew. Real hodge podge is not made in the fall but summer when the vegetables are fresh from the garden. There is no use of flour or turnip in hodge podge, fresh peas from the pods are a must and cream is not optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made this for my sister who lived with her mother in law in N.S. when she was younger she asked me if I could make some hodge podge being from N.B. I never heard of it so found a recipe on all recipes and made it she said it was good but she only remembers there being the green beans and no other veggies will certainly making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I remember as a young child having this on the July 1st holiday. My Nanny would make a huge pot of it. Was not sure if it was a recipe she had made up, or if it was something everyone had LOL. As years passed and so did she I kind of forgot about the stew, until recently. And to my delight I finally stumbled upon the recipe. Can't wait to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I tripled the recipie and 1/2 cup butter was enough. Turned out great! Not sure about all the flour, not really necessary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was excellent. I doubled up on the turnips, and their flavor still did not overpower the dish. I also cooked the vegetables in chicken broth rather than in water, and it added a lot of flavor. I was especially impressed with this recipe after letting the flavors meld for a day. Yum. This dish is very similar to a Green Bean Soup recipe from my Polish grandmother, which calls for the addition of equal parts sugar and vinegar (usually around 1/2 c. each) in order to impart a sweet and sour effect. I like the Hodge-Podge approach, too, because it is good to have a purpose for turnips other than just mashing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I'm a Maritimers (NB) and this is something I grew up on and look forward to every summer. For us, it is the first harvest consisting of tiny new potatoes (kept whole or halved), green beans, yellow beans, carrots and peas. We cook it until veggies are just tender but still crisp. Usually best to start with the peas as they need a bit more time. As some others suggest, I do not use flour...but cereal cream and butter are musts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyKidsThinkICanCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
As a Nova Scotian now living in BC, my HodgePodge cravings start when the first beans (green or yellow), garden peas and new potatoes arrive at the Farmers' Market. I must agree with others who didn't use the turnip as I find it imparts a bitter, almost musty flavour that becomes more pronounced as it sits. And for me, the best HodgePodge is eaten a day or 2 after it was first made...so no turnip in my version. The cream does give it the mouthfeel that I remember from my days in NS but now a healthier version can be made with a light roux (flour & Marg or butter) and then 2% or 1% milk. For me the key is lots of sweet young green peas and new potatoes. I saute 1/2 cup sweet or green onions with some coarsely chopped celery until the onions are tender and the celery still has some crunch. Then the potatoes go into the pot with as little water/cooking liquid as possible. Once that liquid has come to a boil, then the carrot and peas are added and left to cook for 5 minutes. Then the rest of the veggies and the sauted onions & celery. Total cooking time for the veggies DOES NOT EXCEED 20 MINUTES. The roux is next, stirred in thoroughly, with as much milk as you like to bring it to a chunky stew consistency. Salt and pepper to taste and you are ready to enjoy with a toasted chunk of cheese bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I took someone's advice and didn't add all-purpose flour. I doubled the amount of green beans for not having wax beans on hands, replaced turnips with zucchini, used evaporated skim milk for cutting off some calories. Also I reduced butter to 4 tbs. However, it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This is a great hearty stew. I substituted 1/2 block silken tofu and 1/2 cup homemade almond milk, blended, (you can use any milk substitute such as soy milk, nut milk, etc) in place of the heavy cream to convert it to a vegan stew. I also substituted soy butter for butter, and substituted arrowroot powder in place of the all purpose flour. I was not able to find wax beans, I added butter beans in place of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
We enjoyed this stew very much and served it with cornbread. I used 2 cups green beans and omitted wax beans, and substituted milk for heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States