Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nicole Lionheart
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I modified the recipe to individual tarts/cupcakes. 1 tbsp crust in each cup, 1 cup additional blueberries, & had to make another 1/2 batch of the sour cream mix. They were baked for 40 mins, till top crust was light brown. I used foil cups which allowed the bottom crust to brown nicely. Next time I'll probably flour the inner cups for easier removal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lionheart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Excellent! Easy to make and a hit. I did not put the whip cream on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Why didn't my sour cream layer rise? Not even a centimeter! I used a 9" spring form pan and it looks delicious but not even close to the photo. Any suggestions? Thanks! It was still delicious, though! Marty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Fantastic, the crust was like graham cracker crust. I will try it with different types of fruit. I tried strawberries - fantastic. Just slice the berries an substitute it. Next time, I am trying it with peaches and nectarines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I have made this recipe at my place of work, to rave reviews. Have even doubled and tripled the recipe as per demand. It doesn't have to be cooked in a ring pan, a large 9X12 worked great. Also, for fruit, we usually had fresh apples and pears left over that couldn't be sold, so I diced them up and add a bit of honey. What a wonderful taste!!One of my favorite Go To's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Yuk. No flavor at all. I think this would be better with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe, except that I did mix the blueberries with the topping, as other suggested. I've decided that ruins the three-layer look. It turned out fine, but for presentation, I'll have the three distinct layers next time. The blueberries peeking through the top of the sour cream mixture, once cooked, just didn't look very appealing. I wouldn't suggest doing it. Some reviews mentioned a runny or watery top layer with the blueberries. I used fresh, and I dried them thoroughly prior to using them in the dessert. It's wonderful tasting, and not too sweet. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Every summer I pick many gallons of blueberries at an organic farm near my house. I am always looking for new recipes that use blueberries. I tried this recipe last summer and it is one of my all-time favorites. Everyone I served it to liked it. I am anxiously awaiting this year's crop of blueberries. Nova Scotia blueberry cream cake will be the first recipe I cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I made as directed. Plain tasting. Crust burned some in less time than directed. Crust was bland and dry. There are much better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Fantastic. Folded in the blueberries as others said to do. Used frozen blueberries and defrosted and dried with paper towels to decrease moisture and sprinkled cornstarch on them (very little) and it turned out beautifully. Cooked at 350C for 75 min and then at 375 for 10 min to brown the top (had a dark spring pan and bottom didn't get too dark at all.) It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States