Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I made this a second time and it was fabulous! The first time I did not mix the berries and the creamed mixture. What a difference and what a great dessert. My entire family loved it. Just make sure to mix the berries and cream-not layer them as I did first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MISSIE7293
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
being from nova scotia myself, I had to try this recipe. I had the inlaws over for supper and it was a HUGE hit!! I was concerned cooking it because when I took it out of the oven, it was still really "jiggly". so I left it in the spring pan and put it in the fridge for a couple hours. It firmed right up and tasted WONDERFUL. I will be making this agiin, and maybe trying to substitue different fruit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSIE7293

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Listing this as a cake recipe is a misnomer. It is in reality more of a tart. I would describe the crust as more cookie like than cake like. I have a recipe with the exact same ingredients and directions, but it is called "Sour Cream Fruit Tart" with the possibility of interchanging fresh fruits as the star of the dessert. I have made it with peaches and red raspberries to rave reviews. My only addition has been to change the amount of sugar mixed with the sour cream from 1/2 cup to one cup when making the blueberry version. This is simple to make with incredible eye and taste appeal which makes people think you are an incredibly talented baker. I have read all the comments about this recipe and noticed a few bad comments about this recipe. One: You must use the exact pan size called for. Two: Never use the new non stick or glass bottom spring form pans. Stick with the old cheapo regular spring forms. You will get better results. Three: Never ever use frozen or canned fruit with this recipe. You just don't get the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed the advice of many other reviewers and mixed my blueberries directly into the cream mixture before pouring over the crust. I used frozen, rinsed and thawed blueberries and it turned out beautifully. We actually preferred it that night while still warm but it was good chilled the next day too. This is a great alternative to pie when you just don't feel like going to the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This was VERY yummy!!! And very easy to make!!! I also made/baked this the night before, let it cool, and then put it in the fridge. took it out an hour before serving the next day. The whipped cream on top really makes the cake!!! Also want to note. I cooked it 65 minutes and the whole cake never browned, just the edges. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Incredibly Easy and Delicious - was a hit at the party. I would suggest folding the blueberries into the sour cream mixture before pouring on top of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I have made this recipe many times with great success. I have also mixed raspberries with the blueberries and the result is awesome. This recipe appeared on the side of the boxes at Blueberry Acres in NS for many years. Thank you Paul for posting it because when I moved to Ontario, I didn't bring those boxes with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Tried this after going blueberry picking. Very good. Crust was great. Almost like a cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This was great. My family ate the whole thing in one night.Thanks so much for sharing.I used frozen blueberries and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
LOVE IT!!!! total hit with everyone. Definitely mix the blueberries with the cream mixture and chill. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States