Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
The top took forever to look cooked which made the bottom way too overcooked!!! I used a tephlon/dark coloured spring form pan which other reviewers said ruined the cooking process, I totally agree. All my other spring form pans are metal/silver looking and I have never had that problem before. I even used parchment paper on the bottom to try and avoid the problem but that didn't work!!! Had to throw this out, bummer. I think if I had the right pan it would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Listing this as a cake recipe is a misnomer. It is in reality more of a tart. I would describe the crust as more cookie like than cake like. I have a recipe with the exact same ingredients and directions, but it is called "Sour Cream Fruit Tart" with the possibility of interchanging fresh fruits as the star of the dessert. I have made it with peaches and red raspberries to rave reviews. My only addition has been to change the amount of sugar mixed with the sour cream from 1/2 cup to one cup when making the blueberry version. This is simple to make with incredible eye and taste appeal which makes people think you are an incredibly talented baker. I have read all the comments about this recipe and noticed a few bad comments about this recipe. One: You must use the exact pan size called for. Two: Never use the new non stick or glass bottom spring form pans. Stick with the old cheapo regular spring forms. You will get better results. Three: Never ever use frozen or canned fruit with this recipe. You just don't get the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I've baked this 5-6 times over the last couple years. It's a delicious recipe for fresh blueberries. I always get compliments on it and it's very easy to make. One suggestion; always use a light colored pan to bake in; a dark one overbakes the crust; it comes out too browned. I only made this mistake once...........It is now July, 2012...I have made this numerous times, have one in the oven right now. I have made one change to the recipe. My blueberries are grown in our yard and are tarter than what you buy at the grocery store (better in my opinion) so I add 1 cup of sugar in the sour crean mixture instead of 1/2 cup, makes it even better and still not too sweet since my berries are tart. Oh, and for the ones that said their crust was hard, make sure you lightly pat crust into the pan just like the recipe calls for. If you press it in too firmly it will be hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good, not very "cake like" in top. Everyone loved the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was good, I'm in Nova Scotia and had some frozen NS blueberries left over from last fall which made it even better:) The only thing was the cake bottom was a bit hard and the top a bit wet (maybe because the berries were frozen?) I think next time I would dust the frozen berries with a bit of cornstarch to help the topping firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I also am from Nova Scotia and this is a popular dessert. Never fails to impress and even for me it is good and I don't care for blueberries!!!! Raspberries can be substituted. Nice to see it in print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The essence of Nova Scotia produce is captured in this tasty treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
YUMMY took it to a pot luck everyone loved it! I also mixed the blueberries right in the mixture AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I just loved this! It is a perfect dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
my cake wasn't nearly as pretty as some posted pictures. also, i think next time i'll double the recipe. the cake seemed so flat and thin. this is very good with whipped cream -- we ate it chilled, i'll try it a bit warmed up as well. great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States