Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good, not very "cake like" in top. Everyone loved the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This was good, I'm in Nova Scotia and had some frozen NS blueberries left over from last fall which made it even better:) The only thing was the cake bottom was a bit hard and the top a bit wet (maybe because the berries were frozen?) I think next time I would dust the frozen berries with a bit of cornstarch to help the topping firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I also am from Nova Scotia and this is a popular dessert. Never fails to impress and even for me it is good and I don't care for blueberries!!!! Raspberries can be substituted. Nice to see it in print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
The essence of Nova Scotia produce is captured in this tasty treat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
YUMMY took it to a pot luck everyone loved it! I also mixed the blueberries right in the mixture AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I just loved this! It is a perfect dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
my cake wasn't nearly as pretty as some posted pictures. also, i think next time i'll double the recipe. the cake seemed so flat and thin. this is very good with whipped cream -- we ate it chilled, i'll try it a bit warmed up as well. great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I only had half the blueberries so I halfed the cream recipe as well. It was still plenty, it probably would have overflowed if I used 4 cups of these blueberries. I thought it was very good. I ate it for breakfast the next morning even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Easy to make just as written, but next time I would try mixing the berries with the sour cream as suggested by reviewers. It taste like a cheese cake with a shortbread crust. Fast and great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe! I followed the advice of many other reviewers and mixed my blueberries directly into the cream mixture before pouring over the crust. I used frozen, rinsed and thawed blueberries and it turned out beautifully. We actually preferred it that night while still warm but it was good chilled the next day too. This is a great alternative to pie when you just don't feel like going to the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States