Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Made it and mixed the blueberries with the sour cream mixture as suggested. Fantastic result. Tried it warm and again the next day cold. Fruity, not overlyl sweet, light dessert. THEN tried it zapped in microwave for 30 seconds and served with a dollop of whipped cream and I died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PatRedstone
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a great basic recipe for any fresh fruit (In the photo I used chopped fresh peaches) and you don't need the special cookware. I made it in an 8" parchment lined cake pan, let it cool in the refer and then simply lifted it out by the paper and transferred it onto a serving dish. The cooking time or amount of the ingredients was not adjusted. The crust has the density and flavor of a scone. As some of the comments suggested, I added a bit more sugar to both the crust and to the cream mixture. I mixed the fruit with the cream. I've also made it with frozen blueberries, thawed, drained onto a paper towel (Don't use wet fruit!) Also I added the zest of one lemon to the crust. I served it with creme fraiche whipped with powdered sugar so it would be more like blueberries with creme - but it's fine without any topping at all. It went over quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
One of the best deserts I've ever eaten, easy to prepare and enjoyed by all, don't even want to share the name of it or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
i found the topping(bueberry mixture) to be very tastey esp with the whipped cream. the crust was nothing to write home about maybe i did something wrong maybe its the way it is suppose dto be but i found it a little hard like a cookie not cake like, i will make this again but with a different crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this for fellowship at church on Sunday. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Awesome!! Came out perfectly and everyone loved it. I love in Nova Scotia and never heard of this cake. I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was very easy to make, the crust was very good but I was disappointed with the blueberry topping, I found it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Holy Moses, was this ever good. Even without the whipped cream. It looked and tasted fantastic. I did take the common suggestion of mixing the blueberries with the sour cream mixture and it turned out very well. My family gave it rave reviews at our Easter dinner,... so much so that I made it again for Easter brunch! Fabulous recipe. Even I couldn't screw it up! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleMissDisaster

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a really nice cake, but I didn't like how the creamed part of it was kind of curdeled. I used raspberries and blueberries which gave it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I love this dip. I usually put it in a bread bowl and use the cut out bread as a dipper. It's great with crackers too. Everyone that has tasted this dip loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States