Nova Scotia Blueberry Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Lovestocook25
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made this cake last night for my sister and brother-in-law's birthdays. Instead of using blueberries I made it with strawberries, chopping them into small pieces. It was fabulous! Don't skip the whipped cream on the top - I think it's a necessity. Thanks for a dessert recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
My friends loved it thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Everyone loved. I seved it warm with a little ice cream on top....out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Great tasting "cake".. BUT the "cake" part was pretty hard and more like a cookie than a cake. Don't get me wrong, everyone raved about how great it was.. but a softer cake layer would've made this five star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I followed other reviews, and folded my frozen blueberries in with the cream. A nice change from heavy cheesecake. Got rave reviews for a delicious dessert. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenHunter
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
great way to use up blueberries....and it only took 15 min to throw together before putting it in the oven. like the other reviews, I put half the blueberries onto the crust, and folded the other half in the sour cream mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenHunter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I just love this recipe. Easy to make and if you are a blueberry fan like I am it's a must to try. The only change I did to this recipe is that I folded blueberries in the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Made it and mixed the blueberries with the sour cream mixture as suggested. Fantastic result. Tried it warm and again the next day cold. Fruity, not overlyl sweet, light dessert. THEN tried it zapped in microwave for 30 seconds and served with a dollop of whipped cream and I died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PatRedstone
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is a great basic recipe for any fresh fruit (In the photo I used chopped fresh peaches) and you don't need the special cookware. I made it in an 8" parchment lined cake pan, let it cool in the refer and then simply lifted it out by the paper and transferred it onto a serving dish. The cooking time or amount of the ingredients was not adjusted. The crust has the density and flavor of a scone. As some of the comments suggested, I added a bit more sugar to both the crust and to the cream mixture. I mixed the fruit with the cream. I've also made it with frozen blueberries, thawed, drained onto a paper towel (Don't use wet fruit!) Also I added the zest of one lemon to the crust. I served it with creme fraiche whipped with powdered sugar so it would be more like blueberries with creme - but it's fine without any topping at all. It went over quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
One of the best deserts I've ever eaten, easy to prepare and enjoyed by all, don't even want to share the name of it or the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States