Nougat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thank you, Florida Ray! And to the other reviewers as well - collaboration is a wonderful thing! My family loved these cookies - they are different and delicious. The buttery taste of the cookie and sugar-infused nougat are the perfect combination. The advice to not over-brown the sugar was very helpful to me. As soon as the sugar began to liquefy and became golden brown, I transferred it to the greased pan. Be careful - even though you use medium heat - that mixture is very hot! And it takes a minute to cool down enough to handle it. I actually burned my finger after I poured the nougat into the cake pan and grabbed the pan after a few minutes to move it. It was still very hot on the bottom under where the nougat was. Because we love sugar, I doubled the sugar and used one cup instead of the recommended half cup of sugar to make the nougat. There is also something entertaining to me about using a hammer as a part of cookie baking. I substituted one tsp of vanilla for one of the tsps of water as mentioned by another reviewer. The cookies took a little longer to brown on the bottom than the 10-12 minutes. Even though I made a few smaller cookies and a few larger ones - for me - the baking time was closer to 14 minutes, but I also use very heavy-duty cookie sheets. The cookies were not very brown on the top - they came out more white like a sugar cookie, but the taste is marvelous. My husband is an avid tea drinker and said he loved this cookie with this Typhoo tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Wow. Ditto what another reviewer said -- my new favorite cookie! These are delicious (I am a sucker for the taste of melted sugar caramel) -- I think the caramel bits would be delicious in other cookies as well. I did add a pinch of salt (used unsalted butter), but next time I would use salted butter with an additional pinch of salt (I like salty & sweet together), and will give vanilla a try as well. Thank you Florida Ray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
When these cookies were in the oven, I was sure I'd done something wrong. They don't come out at all like what I'd normally expect from a cookie, but they are somewhat like a Welsh cookie that is baked on a griddle. That said, these are delicious and make perfect company for a mug of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes! Everything came out perfect, including the nougat. I kept it at medium heat and the sugar melted perfectly and hardened quickly. I did as some of you suggested and I substituted the water for the vanilla extract and it was great. I like that the cookies were thin, crispy and chewy all at the same time. The only thing was that I had to add alot of extra flour so the dough wouldn't stick when I tried to roll it up. Other than that, it was great, gone in 3 days!!! Very unique flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had a bad day and wanted cookies. These struck my fancy because they call for a cathartic smashing of nougat. Followed the recipe almost exactly (just added salt). Came out great; everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My cookies did not turn out how I had expected at all. It could have been that in making the nougat, I waited a tad bit too long, which makes all the difference in the world! A tip to others: the moment all the sugar is carmelized and a light brown color; pour it immediently! It will taste how nougat should (mine tasted burnt, as I waited too long). Also, some reviews say to add more vanilla for better taste, but too much will make it taste odd, so watch out :). Other than that, the cookie was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ern
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The batter ended up really dry so I added a splash of milk, and then it was moldable into the roll. I had a little fun and added twice the nougat, and the second batch I made was 1 cup sugar, and 1 square unsweetened bakers chocolate, made for a chocolatey-caramel flavour. The actual cookie is very much like a biscuit/cookie hybrid. My roommate claimed that "[I am] a cookie genius"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These didn't have a lot of flavor, but were moist and sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy. these are my new favorite cookies! they are super easy to make and are delicious. I substituted vanilla extract for the water, which added a lot of flavor- i think theyd be rather dull without it. Also used vegan butter (earth balance) and it still turned out great! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States