Nougat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Wow. Ditto what another reviewer said -- my new favorite cookie! These are delicious (I am a sucker for the taste of melted sugar caramel) -- I think the caramel bits would be delicious in other cookies as well. I did add a pinch of salt (used unsalted butter), but next time I would use salted butter with an additional pinch of salt (I like salty & sweet together), and will give vanilla a try as well. Thank you Florida Ray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
When these cookies were in the oven, I was sure I'd done something wrong. They don't come out at all like what I'd normally expect from a cookie, but they are somewhat like a Welsh cookie that is baked on a griddle. That said, these are delicious and make perfect company for a mug of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes! Everything came out perfect, including the nougat. I kept it at medium heat and the sugar melted perfectly and hardened quickly. I did as some of you suggested and I substituted the water for the vanilla extract and it was great. I like that the cookies were thin, crispy and chewy all at the same time. The only thing was that I had to add alot of extra flour so the dough wouldn't stick when I tried to roll it up. Other than that, it was great, gone in 3 days!!! Very unique flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had a bad day and wanted cookies. These struck my fancy because they call for a cathartic smashing of nougat. Followed the recipe almost exactly (just added salt). Came out great; everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My cookies did not turn out how I had expected at all. It could have been that in making the nougat, I waited a tad bit too long, which makes all the difference in the world! A tip to others: the moment all the sugar is carmelized and a light brown color; pour it immediently! It will taste how nougat should (mine tasted burnt, as I waited too long). Also, some reviews say to add more vanilla for better taste, but too much will make it taste odd, so watch out :). Other than that, the cookie was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ern
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The batter ended up really dry so I added a splash of milk, and then it was moldable into the roll. I had a little fun and added twice the nougat, and the second batch I made was 1 cup sugar, and 1 square unsweetened bakers chocolate, made for a chocolatey-caramel flavour. The actual cookie is very much like a biscuit/cookie hybrid. My roommate claimed that "[I am] a cookie genius"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These didn't have a lot of flavor, but were moist and sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy. these are my new favorite cookies! they are super easy to make and are delicious. I substituted vanilla extract for the water, which added a lot of flavor- i think theyd be rather dull without it. Also used vegan butter (earth balance) and it still turned out great! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Five stars. Give these cookies a try. You will be glad you did. I crushed the nougat in a plastic bag with a wooden mallet. My second batch of cookies, substituted 1 teaspoon of water with vanilla as the previous reviewer tried. Great good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States