Not so Sloppy Joe Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
We have been making this for years with one small change..use CRESCENT ROLLS instead of biscuits. The flavor is wonderful and it doesn't stick. Unroll one pkg of crescents into the bottom of your 9x13 pan and bake for 10 min. Remove from oven and add the meat mixture and cheese. Top with the other crescent roll and bake. It's my family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superwoman8977
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Had to up the temp to 375 and the biscuits were still doughy. Going to try this again next week and this time use tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superwoman8977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I only used 1 can of biscuits and cooked them for a few minutes before adding the sauce...just to make sure the biscuits were cooked through. My boyfriend loved it. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyjinx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was very good, but I felt like the biscuits were too much. I think next time I'd do crescent roll dough across the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is my kids favorite meal. And SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was great! I was desperate for something that I could make out of what I had on hand, and this fit the bill. I used ground turkey instead of beef and rather than a can of sauce, I used the recipe for Sloppy Joes II, which is my go-to for sloppy joes. It took me seven biscuits to cover the bottom of the pan. I will make this again, and maybe add additional veggies next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I adjusted this recipe to substitute healthier choices. I used half the amount of ground turkey and substituted chopped zucchini, onions, garlic, chopped red pepper and spinach for the other half of ground meat. (This is a great way to stretch your meat budget plus get added vegetables into your family.) I also made my own sloppy joe sauce because I do not buy canned. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder (we're watching our salt intake). I also used 2% sharp cheddar cheese. I did not care for this but my three men ate almost all of it. I got such a screaming deal on canned biscuits by couponing my husband was gleeful to have them in this casserole. This was a great way for my boys to get a comfort food favorite of theirs and a great way to make a homemade substitute with healthier ingredients and added vegetables plus, it was quick! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made mine with one can of biscuits also in a 8in round pan. Didn't have shredded cheese so I just put some sliced on top. Turned out just fine! Great for making if you're out of buns or just want a new take on manwhich. I'm sure kids would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Ollberding Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this last Friday night. It was very simple to make & tastes great!! I was smart & greased the bottom of the 9x13" baking dish before putting in the biscuits, however. I doubled the amount of hamburger used since I knew 1 lb wasn't going to be enough--glad I did!! I kept the rest of the recipe the same though. My husband doesn't usually care for casseroles but he really liked this one! Wish I could've found the Del Monte sloppy joe mix with mesquite in our store as I think that would've tasted better than the Manwich brand. But I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVED! Didn't use the onions or peppers as my picky kids will barely tolerate the veggies in the canned sauce, but everyone gobbled it up! Thank you for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States