Not so Sloppy Joe Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I only used 1 can of biscuits and cooked them for a few minutes before adding the sauce...just to make sure the biscuits were cooked through. My boyfriend loved it. We will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyjinx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This was very good, but I felt like the biscuits were too much. I think next time I'd do crescent roll dough across the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is my kids favorite meal. And SUPER EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was great! I was desperate for something that I could make out of what I had on hand, and this fit the bill. I used ground turkey instead of beef and rather than a can of sauce, I used the recipe for Sloppy Joes II, which is my go-to for sloppy joes. It took me seven biscuits to cover the bottom of the pan. I will make this again, and maybe add additional veggies next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I adjusted this recipe to substitute healthier choices. I used half the amount of ground turkey and substituted chopped zucchini, onions, garlic, chopped red pepper and spinach for the other half of ground meat. (This is a great way to stretch your meat budget plus get added vegetables into your family.) I also made my own sloppy joe sauce because I do not buy canned. Instead of garlic salt, I used garlic powder (we're watching our salt intake). I also used 2% sharp cheddar cheese. I did not care for this but my three men ate almost all of it. I got such a screaming deal on canned biscuits by couponing my husband was gleeful to have them in this casserole. This was a great way for my boys to get a comfort food favorite of theirs and a great way to make a homemade substitute with healthier ingredients and added vegetables plus, it was quick! I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buttercup
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made mine with one can of biscuits also in a 8in round pan. Didn't have shredded cheese so I just put some sliced on top. Turned out just fine! Great for making if you're out of buns or just want a new take on manwhich. I'm sure kids would love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made this last Friday night. It was very simple to make & tastes great!! I was smart & greased the bottom of the 9x13" baking dish before putting in the biscuits, however. I doubled the amount of hamburger used since I knew 1 lb wasn't going to be enough--glad I did!! I kept the rest of the recipe the same though. My husband doesn't usually care for casseroles but he really liked this one! Wish I could've found the Del Monte sloppy joe mix with mesquite in our store as I think that would've tasted better than the Manwich brand. But I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVED! Didn't use the onions or peppers as my picky kids will barely tolerate the veggies in the canned sauce, but everyone gobbled it up! Thank you for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeeWench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
My family loves this recipe. My hubby and son both turned up their noses until they tried it and ate the whole thing. As a time saver I use chunky sloppy joe mix and I omit the chopped green peppers and onion. I use the flakey biscuits and spread half on the bottom of a pie plate, fill with the mixture, sprinkle with some of the cheese and top with the remaining biscuits. Last time I made this I rolled the second half of the biscuits and was able to roll it out and stretch it over the pie plate and seal it around the edges. Lastly, I sprinkled it with the remaining cheese on top of the biscuits. I am going to attempt to make this with pizza sauce, ground meat, pepperoni or sausage and mozzarella cheese as a "pizza pie" or alter the ingredients to make a "cheesburger pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was OK for a weeknight meal, very filling. We skipped the green pepper due to personal preference. Used Grands biscuits and we were able to peel each one in half, instead of quartering them, so it was really easy to press them into the pan. The only change I would make is to grease the pan first, the bottom of the biscuits seemed to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States