Not so Sloppy Joe Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
My family loves this recipe. My hubby and son both turned up their noses until they tried it and ate the whole thing. As a time saver I use chunky sloppy joe mix and I omit the chopped green peppers and onion. I use the flakey biscuits and spread half on the bottom of a pie plate, fill with the mixture, sprinkle with some of the cheese and top with the remaining biscuits. Last time I made this I rolled the second half of the biscuits and was able to roll it out and stretch it over the pie plate and seal it around the edges. Lastly, I sprinkled it with the remaining cheese on top of the biscuits. I am going to attempt to make this with pizza sauce, ground meat, pepperoni or sausage and mozzarella cheese as a "pizza pie" or alter the ingredients to make a "cheesburger pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This was OK for a weeknight meal, very filling. We skipped the green pepper due to personal preference. Used Grands biscuits and we were able to peel each one in half, instead of quartering them, so it was really easy to press them into the pan. The only change I would make is to grease the pan first, the bottom of the biscuits seemed to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My 2 year old son loves this and calls it JoJo Caserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very cheap, tasty, easy, and quick. Used half of a red bell pepper, and garlic powder. However, the biscuits stuck, and the pan had to be soaked overnight, so I recommend using cooking spray. I also did not care for this reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was so excited to make this recipe because I hadn't went to the grocery store in a while and I still happened to have all the ingredients for this dish. However, the casserole was not what I expected. Also, like another reviewer, I got a bad case of heartburn one hour after eating a small portion. My son took one bite and didn't like it. My husband ate the top layer of one portion, but didn't like the bottom bisucit layer. I personally would rather have made sloppy joe's if I would have had the buns. Sorry, we just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lemonhoney
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Quick, Easy, kids enjoyed it. We used Mozzarella cheese on it and used only half a can of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemonhoney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Not soo soo good. A bit too greasy and heartburn follows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Lumberton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was very good! I used just one 16.5 oz can of biscuits and it turned out perfect. I also added a little Goya adobo seasoning since that always makes meat taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was a good idea. I liked the addition of peppers and onions. The Del Monte sauce I used was too sweet. I'll try a different brand next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Very easy and very good! The only variations were personal preference, I use only a half-can Manwich per pound of beef and I also added sliced jalapeno peppers. I will certainly make this again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States