Not Your Mother's Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Good recipe. I used two 9X5 loaf pans instead of the 8X4's, I also baked the breads for one hour and fifteen minutes. Instead of coriander I used 1/2 tsp of Mace and only 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves. I also made a Maple butter, by stirring in 3 tbs. of Grade B Maple syrup into one stick of softened room temp. butter. I have a dual degree in the Culinary Arts, and have also worked in Europe as a Pastry chef. Suffice it to say, that it is indeed a good product when I decide to add it to my personal recipe collection; but when you accidently drop a piece on the floor and THE CAT eats it, IT IS A VERY GOOD recipe indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECMEISTER
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I've been making this pumpkin bread for the last five years. It's simply the best and get rave reviews from all that try it. You won't be disapointed with this one, well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is an AWESOME recipe for pumpkin bread! We have tried several of the recipes on this site (trying to use up many pumpkins worth of pumpkin!) and this is by far the best! It's not as sweet as many we tried, full of savory flavor and extremely moist. This is our new favorite quick bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is probably one of the best that I have come across. I replace the walnut oil wiht canola oil and toasted pecans in place of walnuts. I also baked in a bundt pan and used a maple glaze and served with the maple butter from another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This bread is AMAZING!!! It is so rich and flavorful. The only thing I changed was that I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had on hand, other than that this recipe is perfect. The walnut oil really gives it a wonderful flavor. I would not try to substitute it unless you want to use a different nut oil like pecan or hazelnut. I'm not a fan of sipping cream sherry (my mother told me it used to be her favorite drink over ice), but if you sip it while eating a slice of this bread the flavors just burst in your mouth - this bread is incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very nice as is. As I prefer things a little less sweet I cut the white sugar down to 1-1/3 c. The sherry is necessary to provide the acid to activate the baking soda and to add liquid to make the steam that raises the bread, so if you don't want to use it, sub with apple juice concentrate or orange juice or strong Earl Grey tea, that will do the same things the sherry does. You may want to sub powdered ginger or allspice for part of the cloves, since for some so much clove may be a bit overpowering. The walnut oil is wonderful, but the less expensive sunflower seed oil or peanut oil is almost as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This has become one of my most treasured recipes. I use raisins instead of nuts, and my favorite trick is to soak the raisins in the sherry for at least 20 min before mixing up the recipe. I recently had to substitute some applesauce for part of the oil when I ran out, and found it was just as good as ever... will probably do that from now on to cut down on the oil. (1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce.) Thanks for this yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Made this using pumpkin pie spice and extra mace and ginger. Also used half T each baking soda and aluminum free baking powder, got immense lift. Used 2 cups chopped toasted walnuts (we love nuts) would be good with pecans or toasted pumpkin seeds too. Soaked 1/2c craisins in the sherry warmed in microwave for one minute to help absorb. Used half butter half oil, little shy on the oil. Went half cup less on each sugar measurement. Add the eggs to the creamed mixture before adding pumpkin as with all baked goods. Baked 6 mini loaves (40min) and one dozen mini bundt (30 min). Perfectly baked, no goopiness. I have never had good success baking full size loaves with most quick breads, so I don't! Would have made 10 mini loaves without the bundts. I filled everything using a 1/4c/2oz disher (average icecream scoop) and one was perfect for the muffin size, three heaping each was more than enough per loaf. Mixed warm softened 8oz creamcheese with 3T real maple syrup for a drizzle to serve. Not too sweet and very delicious. Heading out to take mini loaves to homebound elderly neighbors. Yay autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made the pumpkin bread for my husband to take to school for the teachers christmas treat table. It received rave reviews. Thank you for presenting this receipe. Butterflysam1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Have used this recipe for the past 2 years at our cafe & it turns out perfectly every time. Ice it with a cream cheese/butter icing & sprinkle with toasted pecans. We have customers coming back looking for this bread & have taken plenty of special orders too!!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States