Not Your Mother's Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Have used this recipe for the past 2 years at our cafe & it turns out perfectly every time. Ice it with a cream cheese/butter icing & sprinkle with toasted pecans. We have customers coming back looking for this bread & have taken plenty of special orders too!!! Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was pretty good but would have been amazing without the cloves. Normally cloves goes well with pumpkin, but the flavors clashed for some reason. Without the clove it was REALLY great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This has become one of my most treasured recipes. I use raisins instead of nuts, and my favorite trick is to soak the raisins in the sherry for at least 20 min before mixing up the recipe. I recently had to substitute some applesauce for part of the oil when I ran out, and found it was just as good as ever... will probably do that from now on to cut down on the oil. (1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce.) Thanks for this yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I only had a 15 oz can of pumpkin so I halved the recipe and made 18 muffins instead of loaves of bread. I liked the flavor-it was definitely something different and spicey, but the muffins were a little *too* moist. I'm not sure if it was something that only would happen to the muffins, but that detracted from eating them. Something I think I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is probably one of the best that I have come across. I replace the walnut oil wiht canola oil and toasted pecans in place of walnuts. I also baked in a bundt pan and used a maple glaze and served with the maple butter from another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Great recipe! I made a few healthy substitutions. I used 1 2/3 cup of defatted soy flour, the rest regular flour, 2 1/4 cups of Splenda and 1 cup brown sugar, 1 1/4c egg substitute instead of eggs. Also used dried cranberries and raisins instead of nuts since there is a lot of fat in the recipe. The bread turned out very moist with a delicious cream sherry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Good recipe. I used two 9X5 loaf pans instead of the 8X4's, I also baked the breads for one hour and fifteen minutes. Instead of coriander I used 1/2 tsp of Mace and only 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves. I also made a Maple butter, by stirring in 3 tbs. of Grade B Maple syrup into one stick of softened room temp. butter. I have a dual degree in the Culinary Arts, and have also worked in Europe as a Pastry chef. Suffice it to say, that it is indeed a good product when I decide to add it to my personal recipe collection; but when you accidently drop a piece on the floor and THE CAT eats it, IT IS A VERY GOOD recipe indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is an AWESOME recipe for pumpkin bread! We have tried several of the recipes on this site (trying to use up many pumpkins worth of pumpkin!) and this is by far the best! It's not as sweet as many we tried, full of savory flavor and extremely moist. This is our new favorite quick bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECMEISTER
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I've been making this pumpkin bread for the last five years. It's simply the best and get rave reviews from all that try it. You won't be disapointed with this one, well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECMEISTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States