Not Your Mama's Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this almost to the "T" but I used olive oil instead of butter for the top.My 16 year old daughter loved this.I thought it was just o.k.I wasn't sure what to serve with it, so I baked potatoes and put under casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This recipe was alright, but it's not named quite right. It should be 'Not Really Tuna Casserole'. It was almost nothing but spinach when I made it, the single can of tuna in the recipe winding up completely lost beneath all the greens. I love spinach and cook with it every chance I get but I wanted a tuna casserole and this wasn't very tuna-ish at all. It also would have come out incredibly thin in a 9x13 so I did it in my favourite Corningware instead and added cooked penne. It was still alright, while not being great. But the strange part was that the leftovers that were in the fridge turned into a pretty good pasta salad the next day! I'll probably keep playing with the recipe as I'm a sucker for a good spinach pasta salad and there's a winner hiding in there somewhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
well...i don't think i would have liked this recipe as it was written, so i added penne pasta and instead of using two packages of spinach and one can of tuna, i used two cans of tuna and one package of spinach. if i ever make it again i think i will leave out the egg because its such a hassle and it didn't add much to the flavor, and maybe i will add some mozzerella cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I would have given thIS More but really I only used it as a base and played with it a lOT> I used colby jack cheese, fiesta nacho cheese soup in place of one of the cream of mushrooms, several dashes of tapatio, none of the extra stuff on this recipe but spinach and mixed veggies from my freezer. used a little milk and lemon juice in place of sour cream... oh and cooked it on the stove top for a few minutes till it was boiling then let it set with lid on about ten moRE Min so no baking at all. I was in a hurry.. Lol there you have there are good ideas here but I didn't follow at all. oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
As far as recipes go, this is good as a base but I think that it needs a lot of work to make it less bland. When I cooked this, I only used one package of spinach and two cans of tuna. I also used shredded carrot along with the spinach. I skipped the eggs (I thought they were too much of a hassle for what's supposed to be an easy meal), used leftover bits of stuffing instead of bread, replaced most of the butter with olive oil and used other spices (curry powder and red pepper flakes) along with the onion powder to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRaptorWhoMurderedLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gretna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
If you try making it the way the recipe states its very good. Its a casserole. One dish meal. No need to add pasta or anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winfield, Kansas, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
It would be so nice if people would actually make the recipe as stated (or at least close to it) and then review, then make changes on your own time. I made the recipe exactly as stated and it is wonderful comfort food. Upon first glance it was a strange combination of ingredients but together they do work harmoniously and none outshine another. I think I would recommend serving it over egg noodles but not adding them to the recipe. Thanks BlondeJJ for expanding my horizons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My first thought upon seeing the ingredients was "I'm not going to like this." I had everything, so I decided to give it a shot. I was actually very pleasantly surprised & ended up eating more than I should have. I halved the recipe because I only had a 5 ounce can of tuna. I didn't use the full amount of co mushroom or sour cream, but pretty close to it. I felt the amount of onion powder was a bit much so I used a mix of onion powder, garlic powder & black pepper. I'm not a big salt eater & I thought with the canned soup it would be salty enough, but I was wishing I had mixed a bit in. I also think a dash of fresh lemon juice would be nice to set off the tang of the sour cream. These are all easy changes to suit your tastes. I am not sure I totally loved the boiled eggs in there. Next time, I might leave them out or mash them up more. I had some leftover stale garlic bread so I used that on top. Easy, peasy lunch & very filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used fresh spinach and my own recipe for cream of mushroom soup, for taste preferences. I doubled the recipe and used 14oz of fresh baby spinach and 4 6oz cans of tuna. I also used the full dozen eggs and it wasn't too eggy for us, and we don't even like egg salad. :) This was gobbled up by 6 people with none left over. I did add some fresh ground pepper and a lil salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I'm always looking for meatless meals that will satisfy for Lent so I decided to give this a shot. I halved the recipe since only 3 would be eating and I replaced the canned cream of mushroom with homemade. We liked it and will have it again, but I'll play with the spices a bit, maybe add 1/2 tsp of cayenne or some horseradish, just to "take it from ladylike to manly" as my DS said. Thanks, JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States