Not Your Mama's Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maria D
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This recipe was a good way for me to use up all those Easter eggs and leftover rolls. I added 1 more egg than the recipe called for (I have a TON of hard boiled eggs!) and used fresh spinach that I partially cooked in the microwave. My husband and I are big mushroom fans, so I added a can of them as well. It turned out eggcellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Wonderful! Made it as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holmes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We were going away for sometime so I had to use up the ingredients in the fridge and freezer. I came across this recipe of which I had most of the ingredients. I made it up with the addition of 1/2 a tomato, 1/2 onion (cut down the onion powder) and 2 spring onions and the juice of a lemon (to use up the bits and pieces in the fridge). My DH doesn't particularly like spinach or tuna so I was prepared for a bit of resistance at the table - he LOVED it! Even going back for the remaining little bit in the casserole dish. This will be a fave and its quite healthy as well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HK Crazee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsville, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Dang fine recipe. When I first saw it, I was like, no way. I substituted non-fat everything and it was amazing and healthy. The whole family like it. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This sounded so good but was simply awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this according to the directions with only two exceptions. At first, I didn't notice the 12oz part of the can of tuna, so I mistakenly only bought one 5oz can. So back to the store for two more cans that size, a little bit more than the recipe called for. Also, the spinach at my store was in 14oz bags. I used two. I figured that balanced the extra 3oz of tuna. I will definitely make this again. Delicious casserole without the need for noodles or rice - quite filling on its own. I will be mixing the leftovers with cold spinach rotini for my lunches. There was plenty leftover. Thanks for sharing this recipe, BlondeJJ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
If you want a different twist to tuna casserole, then this is the casserole for you. Only thing I did different is added less spinach (husband not a big spinach fan). Once cooked and eaten, we both commented that it needs more spice. I like the lemon idea, but chopped rosemary would be a great addition to this along with fresh garlic and ms dash possibly. Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Larsen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I really loved this, DH likes it and wouldn't mind having it again (he's fussy and wouldn't hesitate to say he didn't want it again if he didn't like it). It's different but so good - I made it just as it's written. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I'm always looking for meatless meals that will satisfy for Lent so I decided to give this a shot. I halved the recipe since only 3 would be eating and I replaced the canned cream of mushroom with homemade. We liked it and will have it again, but I'll play with the spices a bit, maybe add 1/2 tsp of cayenne or some horseradish, just to "take it from ladylike to manly" as my DS said. Thanks, JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I used fresh spinach and my own recipe for cream of mushroom soup, for taste preferences. I doubled the recipe and used 14oz of fresh baby spinach and 4 6oz cans of tuna. I also used the full dozen eggs and it wasn't too eggy for us, and we don't even like egg salad. :) This was gobbled up by 6 people with none left over. I did add some fresh ground pepper and a lil salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole from Scratch

See how to make homemade tuna noodle casserole without the canned soup.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States