Not Your Every Day Smoked Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
The rub has an intense flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I par-boiled the ribs to get a head start on cooking, didn't use the mop sauce. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Did not use mop sauce this time and still came out delicious! The rub recipe is simply fantastic! Totally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The family voted "no".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Kensington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very intense flavor. I smoked mine for 3-4 hours, then wrapped them in foil for a 1/2 hour to rest them. The meat comes off the bone and is meltingly tender to the last morsel. I saved the mop, boiled to reduce and served alongside the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
The rub was a bit too spicy for my taste. Will omit the cayenne next time. But otherwise the flavor was wonderful. Cooked them ever so slowly in my smoker. Definitely worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My husband has never been one for bbq sauce, so when i tried this recipe for the first time he LOVED IT. I changed the mop sauce a little, i used just plain 'ol apple juice (or cider) and some tobasco, and mopped throughout the entire cooking time. Gave just the right amount of sweetness to counteract the intense spiciness for the cayenne. A perfect sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Tanlor, the whole family was extremely happy with your recipe. Nothing was changed and they were excellent. Hubby Drew says to thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by FlFire
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Very good rub, omitted the cayenne. Rinsed ribs in apple cider vinegar then boiled them for 45 mins. in water and 1c apple cider. Rubbed them wrapped them in foil sprayed with pam grilled at 250/275 for 45 mins removed foil and grilled for another 15 or so mins. Meat fell off the bone! Great flavor, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
OMG! Spicy, sweet, moist and full of flavor. This recipe is not for the faint at heart or the time to just grill and chill. I smoked a pork picnic shoulder instead of ribs. The rub is packed with flavor (or, intense as previous reviewers stated) and created an excellent bark. I added fresh garlic cloves, a sprinkle of the leftover rub, and spiced rum in the mop sauce. I used Sirachia (sp) sauce to add the heat in the mop. Thank you Tanlor for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States