Not Your Every Day Smoked Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I par-boiled the ribs to get a head start on cooking, didn't use the mop sauce. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very intense flavor. I smoked mine for 3-4 hours, then wrapped them in foil for a 1/2 hour to rest them. The meat comes off the bone and is meltingly tender to the last morsel. I saved the mop, boiled to reduce and served alongside the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
The rub has an intense flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My husband has never been one for bbq sauce, so when i tried this recipe for the first time he LOVED IT. I changed the mop sauce a little, i used just plain 'ol apple juice (or cider) and some tobasco, and mopped throughout the entire cooking time. Gave just the right amount of sweetness to counteract the intense spiciness for the cayenne. A perfect sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Great way to cook ribs. We didn't have the time to do the long cooking so just bbq'd our normal length of time (about 45 minutes) and the ribs still came out tender and tasty! 6/09 Just finished with going the smoker route and they were absolutely fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FlFire
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Very good rub, omitted the cayenne. Rinsed ribs in apple cider vinegar then boiled them for 45 mins. in water and 1c apple cider. Rubbed them wrapped them in foil sprayed with pam grilled at 250/275 for 45 mins removed foil and grilled for another 15 or so mins. Meat fell off the bone! Great flavor, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I use this recipe with pork and only use the dry rub part of the recipe. I find that the meat comes out so moist and delicious that there's really no need for the mop sauce. I also add a little more cinammon and paprika than the recipe calls for as I find this really gives a wonderful warmth at the back of your throat. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Did not use mop sauce this time and still came out delicious! The rub recipe is simply fantastic! Totally loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
OMG! Spicy, sweet, moist and full of flavor. This recipe is not for the faint at heart or the time to just grill and chill. I smoked a pork picnic shoulder instead of ribs. The rub is packed with flavor (or, intense as previous reviewers stated) and created an excellent bark. I added fresh garlic cloves, a sprinkle of the leftover rub, and spiced rum in the mop sauce. I used Sirachia (sp) sauce to add the heat in the mop. Thank you Tanlor for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made these for Father's Day, and they were a huge hit! We even let them go quite a bit longer in the smoker until the other stuff was done, but they only got more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States