Not Your Every Day Smoked Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I use this recipe with pork and only use the dry rub part of the recipe. I find that the meat comes out so moist and delicious that there's really no need for the mop sauce. I also add a little more cinammon and paprika than the recipe calls for as I find this really gives a wonderful warmth at the back of your throat. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FlFire
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Very good rub, omitted the cayenne. Rinsed ribs in apple cider vinegar then boiled them for 45 mins. in water and 1c apple cider. Rubbed them wrapped them in foil sprayed with pam grilled at 250/275 for 45 mins removed foil and grilled for another 15 or so mins. Meat fell off the bone! Great flavor, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Very intense flavor. I smoked mine for 3-4 hours, then wrapped them in foil for a 1/2 hour to rest them. The meat comes off the bone and is meltingly tender to the last morsel. I saved the mop, boiled to reduce and served alongside the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
The rub has an intense flavor. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
We have an electric smoker so we used that. We used a piece of cherry wood and a smaller piece of apple wood for the smoke flavor. I didn't add any of the cayenne pepper and we didn't use the mop sauce at all. When the ribs were finished we applied a thin layer of Jack Daniels BBQ sauce and finished them off. These ribs were to die for! After a few weeks of having them, the guests are still raving about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEPAW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Delicious! I did not use the mop sauce, but instead just rubbed the meat with the spice rub and let marinade for a few hours. Baked at 350 degrees for 1.5 hours and finished off on the grill for approx. 30 mintes = PERFECT RIBS! This rub is fabulous and had everyone asking for my "secret recipe." Thanks so much - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
My Husband and I have NEVER cooked ribs before, so we tried this recipe. It was EASY and WONDERFUL!!!!! We cut down the chili powder and didnt add the hot sauce to the Mop Sauce because I have a baby mouth, but they still had a bite to them, and were TERRIFIC!!! We deffinately will use this recipe again! Its saved in my recipe box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Tanlor, the whole family was extremely happy with your recipe. Nothing was changed and they were excellent. Hubby Drew says to thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
My husband has never been one for bbq sauce, so when i tried this recipe for the first time he LOVED IT. I changed the mop sauce a little, i used just plain 'ol apple juice (or cider) and some tobasco, and mopped throughout the entire cooking time. Gave just the right amount of sweetness to counteract the intense spiciness for the cayenne. A perfect sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I par-boiled the ribs to get a head start on cooking, didn't use the mop sauce. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States