Not Your Every Day Smoked Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Very good. My husband and I are always trying to find the "best rib recipe ever" I'm still looking, but this recipe is definitely up there! It's for sure "Not your every day smoked pork ribs" but that's what I love about it. Let's face it, anyone can put store bought bbq sauce on some ribs. I'm not a huge fan of spicy food, so I only added 1/4 tbs of cayenne pepper, and 2 tbs of red pepper flakes. I left the rub on it for 24 hours, and cooked it over indirect heat at 250 degrees, for 8 hours. Overall, I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
we have used this recipe now 3 or 4 times and it is a winner everytime. a little different a little spicy very very good, no sauce needed. we have smoked almost all of the baby back recipes on this site and this is definitely the best. whenever we try a new recipe we only cook half the new way and the other half this way just to be safe. THE BEST BARRED NONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brunsell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canyon Country, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
awesome rub
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
finger likin good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Great way to cook ribs. We didn't have the time to do the long cooking so just bbq'd our normal length of time (about 45 minutes) and the ribs still came out tender and tasty! 6/09 Just finished with going the smoker route and they were absolutely fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I use this recipe with pork and only use the dry rub part of the recipe. I find that the meat comes out so moist and delicious that there's really no need for the mop sauce. I also add a little more cinammon and paprika than the recipe calls for as I find this really gives a wonderful warmth at the back of your throat. I would recommend this recipe to anyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I made these for Father's Day, and they were a huge hit! We even let them go quite a bit longer in the smoker until the other stuff was done, but they only got more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
OMG! Spicy, sweet, moist and full of flavor. This recipe is not for the faint at heart or the time to just grill and chill. I smoked a pork picnic shoulder instead of ribs. The rub is packed with flavor (or, intense as previous reviewers stated) and created an excellent bark. I added fresh garlic cloves, a sprinkle of the leftover rub, and spiced rum in the mop sauce. I used Sirachia (sp) sauce to add the heat in the mop. Thank you Tanlor for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FlFire
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Very good rub, omitted the cayenne. Rinsed ribs in apple cider vinegar then boiled them for 45 mins. in water and 1c apple cider. Rubbed them wrapped them in foil sprayed with pam grilled at 250/275 for 45 mins removed foil and grilled for another 15 or so mins. Meat fell off the bone! Great flavor, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Tanlor, the whole family was extremely happy with your recipe. Nothing was changed and they were excellent. Hubby Drew says to thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States