Not Your Every Day Smoked Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
we love this recipe becuase of the rub! we put it on everything goes on our smoker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Did not make ribs, but brisket on the smoker using this dry rub and mop sauce, turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
3 people in family liked, 2 didn't. I left out the cumin and the wood chips. I doubled the recipe...I personally liked the taste but didn't give 5 stars because not everyone in my house enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taby Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittstown, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
oh so VERY VERY good!!! we thoroughly luved them...i only did 3 lbs of ribs but made the whole batch of the rub...i used smoked paprika and chipotle chili powder...the rest was the same and i used the submitter's measurements and it was not too spicy for us...tho i didn't have jalapeno seasoning salt to use so not sure if it mattered (i've never seen it here)...as others i didn't use the mop sauce ... they turned out perfect for us!!! i smoked them at about 250 for about 5 hours...using montana whiskey smoking wood chips...the rest of the rub i have left over am going to use on our pork chops...i think it'd work...thanks so much for sharing this recipe...i highly recommend it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
THE FIRST TIME I MADE THESE, MY FAMILY LIKED THE RIBS SO MUCH WITH JUST THE RUB THERE WEREN'T ANY LEFT TO SAUCE. PLANNED THEM AGAIN FOR FRIENDS AND SLOW COOKED THEM IN 250 OVEN FOR HOURS WITH RUB AS WE HAD A FRIGHTFUL THUNDERSTORM AND EVERYONE LOVED THE VINEGERY COMPLIMENT OF THE SAUCE TO THE SPICY SWEET RUB,( I MAY HAVE HAD A HEAVY HAND WITH THE BROWN SUGAR)ONE OF THESE DAYS WILL GET THE SMOKER,MOP SAUCE AND RUB ALL AT THE SAME TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlinkaPinka
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Absolutely to die for! I marinated the meat overnight and baked in an over for 3 1/2 hours at around 300. Then finished on the grill with the mop sauce. I did omit the apple cider and replaced it with chili sauce and it was still a little too runny for my taste, but very delicious. The meat was falling off the bone! I was heavenly! Will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlinkaPinka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Excellent! I added Thai Chile pastr & Tabasco East Asian Chile sauce to the brush, to give the ribs a sweet & spicy taste. These ribs were the hit @ the cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This was great. My family are all BBQ lovers and this was as good as any restaraunt if not better than most. I did a mix of baby back and beef ribs with the same rub...equally great results. I cooked the ribs for quite a bit longer though (maybe 6-7 hours total at a temp of 215-225 in my electric smoker). I used a mix of hickory and apple chips, alternating between the two. I also used a different mop sauce This is going in my recipe book as my go to rib recipe...just perfect ribs! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
First time smoking pork ribs and after reading the reviews on this recipe, I decided to give it a shot. The whole family LOVED it!!! I did not use the mop sauce but the ribs turned out nice and moist. Since most of the family likes spicy foods, I did increase some of the hotter spices and the slightly sweet flavor with added zing was awesome. Definitely will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great ribs - my dumb smoker wouldn't get hot enough so I had to finish in the oven. Put the ribs in a dutch oven at 350 for 2 hours to finish off. Came out super tender. The rub is fantastic! Plenty hot without the jal. seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States