Not Your Average Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My wife and I had this last night and we both thought is was wonderful. My wife suggested more dill, but that is her preference. Only problem I had was that I forgot to get garlic but substituted with a teaspoon of garlic powder. It still was great. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I'll give the concept 5 starts - butterflying the chicken for grilling is easy and surpurb! The concept of adding herbs etc under the skin is excellent. I liked the taste of the onions, garlic and herbs - but i'm still debating the sour cream. don't get me wrong, i LOVE sour cream, but this way i'm just not sure....i may try some other spread i "invent" and cook with this method. The flavor was excellent....just wasn't wild about the way the sour cream "clumped" under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
AMAZING! I give this a perfect 5 star rating for the method alone! Never will I agonize over the timing of separate chicken pieces. This really is so easy and the bird cooks evenly and delicious. My 3lb bird was juicy and delish in about an hour. Tastes like rotisserie! I did add lemon zest and lemon juice and additional spices to the mixture but this method will lend itself to any seasoning! Thanks so very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Cooking technique perfect! Our family did not like the mix at all and are a fan of all the ingredients. I can't explain the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Like a few of the other comments, the butterfly technique worked great! I did the majority of it in the oven, and transferred it out to the grill to finish and used my own bbq sauce, so I have not tried that part of the recipe. I have never butterflied a chicken before, but with these directions, it worked well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
What a wonderful way to grill chicken! I couldn't believe that I've been cooking all of these years and never figured this out before. Butterflying the chicken is a brilliant idea. Chicken gets cooked through evenly without charring the meat. I've used this several times already with different marinades and barbeque sauces, including this one. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
WOW, amazing & moist! Was a bit nervous about butterflying the chicken, but "YouTubed" a video and it was so easy. Did my own rub on an 8 lb chicken and grilled for 2 hours at about 350 degrees. Outstanding!! Served with garlic mashed potatoes, corn and rolls. So Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is my new favorite way to grill chicken! I did not use the marinade -- I did not have the ingredients on hand. I cut the bird per the directions and then rubbed lemon pepper between the skin and the flesh. I was positive it would not cook properly -- but it was AMAZING! When I served it to my husband, he asked, "When did we get a rotisserie?" The methodology behind the cooking is what makes this bird awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I've done this a few times now and I've always been happy with the results. I've altered the recipe a few times, like using straight Old Bay, but the cooking always comes out perfect. Don't worry about getting the backbone out completely...the goal is to get the chicken flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRAENEVETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States