Not Red Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
In a word, delicious! Here are the alterations I made: - Can use less sausage (I used 1 lb.) - Doubled mushrooms - Added 1 cup chicken stock (adds moisture, eliminates need for bouillon with all of its sodium, MSG and additives) - Omitted bouillon - Added fresh garlic Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, and I thought it was just...okay. I may try it again with pork sausage. It is definitely not a "saucy" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I substituted olive oil for the butter because I was out of butter. (Who runs out of butter?) I was also out of mushrooms, and would have loved to try it with zucchini. As it was, I added chopped broccoli. This was really fast and really good. It seems very adaptable. Definitely going into my monthly rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I loved the flavor of this - very rich tasting. Nice change to ordinary spagetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
This was only OK in my opinion. Everyone ate it fine. I just could not get over the fact that I was eating a half a stick of butter in a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious!! My husband isn't a big pasta eater and he loved it! I'm not a big zucchini fan so i left it out, and i didn't have sherry at hand so i substituted it with apple cider vinegar. I also used a little salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
Totally different and totally fantastic. Needs to be rated even higher than *****. I changed the veggie to broccoli and shredded carrots which I blanched prior to adding to the pasta. I also added 3/4 c. chicken broth to make sure there was enough sauce. I made it for 36 students (obviously I used your conversion feature...)and everyone of them came back for seconds and some for thirds!! The recipe has been passed on already... First try and absolutely AWESOME!!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
The flavors are amazing and the mushrooms and zucchini were really good with the sausage. It was too salty for my taste and anyone on a salt diet should reduce it to 1 bouillon cube. I really like this dish though and plan on making it again with no sodium bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This was very flavorful, although I did add about twice as much butter and wine than the recipe called for, as I wanted to make sure there was enough to coat all of the noodles. I also added 2 minced garlic cloves and a little olive oil. Also, the mushrooms kind of broke apart when cooking them with the sausage, so I couldn't really taste them very much. Maybe next time I will wait to add them, until the sausage is browned and crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Great and unusual way to use leftover grilled Italian sausage. Didn't have sherry, so used merlot & added garlic. Served this one over penne, and went nuts! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States