Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I usually don't use recipes that aren't rated, but I decided to take a chance and I'm glad I did. These were great! I did use the shortening, though I was tempted to use oil. I don't know if it makes a difference or not, but they were good. I was a little afraid the batter was too thin, but the final product proved me wrong. It had the best texture of any waffles I've made and it had a good flavor. It was not super light and airy if that's what you want, nor was it super dense. It had a nice blend of chewiness and substance. My husband (who's very much a food critic) liked these very much also. I've tried over 10+ waffle recipes, and so far this is the winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I was pretty impressed with these. I halfed the ingredients and used Splenda Baking sugar instead of regular sugar. They hold up well, have a wonderful aroma, and met my expectations of a good waffle. Next time I'll add a little whip cream for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Heavenly good waffles. I just didn't know at what temperature to set my waffle maker, since it's got that facility, but after trying out a bit, the waffles came out really great! Crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made a vegan version of this recipe, using egg substitute and soy milk and it worked out great! Also used a lactose free margarine (melted) instead of the shortening. Loved the spongy and light texture of these waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My waffle iron broke and I used this recipe for pancakes instead. My family went nuts...said that these were the most light and flavorful pancakes that they had ever had. I found a winner and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Harrigan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
These were wonderful! They were so light and fluffy and very flavorful. All 6 of my children loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I was a bit concerned at first, with how runny the batter came out, but these waffles are fantastic! They've ousted our previous waffle recipe of four years. I used 1/2 c of oat flour for part of the flour, added a sprinkle of ground cloves and a sprinkle of ground nutmeg, as well as some ground up pecans. They were a hit and will be a (frequent) repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amity, Oregon, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
yummy! egg-y and slightly sweet - reminded me of madeleine's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Wow these were really good. I was skeptical when I saw how thin the batter was but they turned out great and the smell while they were cooking was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I make these waffles all the time, I love them! I do make them with butter and a little more sugar than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States