Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. They were fluffy and tender and slightly crispy on the outside. I used melted butter instead. I reserved about 1/3 cup of milk because I found the batter very very wet. I did however let it stand for 15 mins(set the table, started the sausages etc) then the batter thickened up quite well. Would like to try with less vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Its very quick to make and I really like the fact that you don't have to seperate the egss like you do with some waffle recipes. I needed to make this dairy-free, so for the 1 3/4 cups of milk I substituted 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk and 3/4 cup of soy creamer and this worked well. At first I was concerned that the batter was a little runny, but after letting it sit for about 5 minutes while my waffle iron heated up the batter thickend a little bit and was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
A delicious, sweet treat. Super Awesome! Totally Rad! If waffles were guitar players, these ones would be Jimi Hendrix. I chose this recipe because it is so simple, and I have all the ingredients. The fact that it makes a great part of a meal is rather nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villain_s_deeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
very very watery-even when following the advice on a previous reviwers comments, to add the eggs after mixing all the ingredients. it made a soupy mess on my waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My mother made these for us often. She was born in Norway and this is great finding the recipe. Although as I remember the origional or traditional recipe contained cardamon. Being 1/2 Norwegian this is a great tradition to carry on for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Hands down best waffles i've made so far. They are similar to a waffle cone recipe that I used to bake ice cream cones in a specialized press - thin batter, sweet taste, great consistency. I used butter instead of shortening though, but they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I needed a quick recipe for Belgian waffles that didn't require 45 minutes to an hour rise time. This was perfect! Great taste and fantastic light texture. I've used egg beaters and whole eggs, it's great either way. I usually use unsalted butter melted instead of the shortening, but I've made them both ways depending on what's on hand. I'll use this again and again for our Belgian waffles as it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This recipe was very runny. I had to add about a cup of flour and another teaspoon of baking powder to make this cook right. Also, the melted shortening gets lumpy and I had to heat the whole mixture up to get the shortening melted and mixed into the batter.It did tatse good after these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very easy Very fast and nice eggy texture. I prepared with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and subbed margarine for the shortening. My kids gave them a huge thumbs up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
these were good but i was really looking forward to a german dessert waffle. as some of the other reviewers said it was sweet but it was no where sweet enough to be a german dessert waffle. i also had a really hard time getting the shortning to mix once i added the milk. the waffle still turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States