Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
If we could rate this 6 stars, we would! I don't like waffles and I usually make them for our daughter, so I decided to try a new one this morning. Before I was done making the second batch, she had already finished her plate! My husband said these were the best waffles he's ever had. These are so delicious I cannot rave about them enough. We will continue to use the recipe but will throw in bananas, blueberries, etc. if we want to. I had to make a couple of changes - used 1/2 & 1/2 as well as milk, oil instead of shortening because but it still turned out great. Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It needs some cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
OK, not spectacular. I needed to set my waffle iron to a dark setting, otherwise they turned out too soft and doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALonis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were very good, though I think I still like Emma's Belgian waffles best. I liked these ones best in my big thick belgian waffle iron, in the thin little scandanavian iron there just wasn't enough to them. Normally I like the thin ones best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lantzville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Awesome! Even without an electric mixer to whisk the egg and sugar, this still came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Awesome. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahlangston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Great recipe! Sprinkle some powdered sugar on them and they taste just like a funnel cake from the fair. I added 1 more T of sugar than the recipe called for and used melted butter instead of shortening. My family loved them so much I'll have to double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I was in Norway last summer. These waffles were a popular snack that you could get from street vendors or cafes. They were served with raspberry(?) jam and powdered sugar. I just bought a waffle iron and tried this recipe out. Spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Light and fluffy waffles. I used 3x the sugar, and used oil instead of melted shortening. These are crisp only if you freeze them, then toast to reheat. Having taken cooking classes, I know that the ratio of milk to flour should be 1:1, so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were really good. I used melted butter instead of shortening and only used 1/2 tsp salt. The batter is VERY thin, but after reading other reviews that they turn out I didn't change anything else. My waffle maker only held 1/3C of batter at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States