Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We have a new waffle iron so I'm trying out recipes to find one that tastes good and works with our Cuisinart Classic Waffle Maker. The one that is in the manual works good, but doesn't taste very good. I decided to try this one out because it uses less shortening, butter, oil than most of the others I've seen. I found the taste very good. I tried one of the waffles plain for a taste test. The flavor was nicely balanced and you could really taste the vanilla in it. The only slight change I made was to use 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of 1 teaspoon. We use a finely ground sea salt and it has a stronger salt flavor. I did knock off one star because the first waffle I cooked exactly to instructions came out over-cooked. It was dry and too brown. After playing with the settings I found that on our waffle maker 4 1/2 works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I received a new Belgian waffle maker for Christmas and this was the first recipe I tried. It worked out slick and made four beautiful, golden round waffles. They weren't super flavorful, which is just fine. They are a good basic waffle that will do well with any topping of your choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very very good. I have another recipe that I usually use, but wanted something faster. I was worried that the liquid content would be too much, but they were very moist and had a slightly eggy texture. I disagree with the other poster who said that they were only good with syrup on them, I felt the plain flavor was great and could eat them without sauce. I used 1 cup ap flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat, and used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyjoylove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I thought these were very good. Usually I use a baking mix, but these were much better and worth the little bit of extra time. It's going in the keeper file/pile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burns, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is not a bad recipe. I needed to add an additional 1/2 cup of flour because it is way too thin. Everyone enjoyed them but, I will go back to my old recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
looks just like the picture and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. My children ask for these a couple times a week. The only thing I change is the amount of salt. If you make these with the full teaspoon, you definately get a salty waffle. I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
One of my favorite recipes! Good for both a breakfast or dessert. I've added chocolate chips and whipped cream for a spectacular dessert. Will definitely be using this recipe again and again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy U
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I followed the recipe to a 'T'. The batter was very thin and kept overflowing out of the sides of my waffle maker. Even though I melted the shortening completely it hardened back up in the batter into hard little balls. My family wasn't impressed with the taste. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cicischwartz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe received rave reviews from my family! Crispy on the outside, and sweet and fluffy on the inside. The perfect waffle! For an autumn dish, serve with cooked sliced apples and caramel sauce. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States