Norwegian Sour Cream and Raisin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I thought this pie had way too much spice and so did my husband.The pie turned out fine as far as consistency and baked in exactly the time stated on the recipe. I won't make this one again, but if I did I would add only the cinnamon and omit the cloves and nutmeg completely, and maybe add a little vanilla. Some reviewers mention they would chop the raisins, I think that would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Grove, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My mother is from Norway and has NEVER heard of sour cream raisin pie, but maybe it's a regional thing (she's from the southeast coast). Regardless, it sounded intriguing and I had some raisins to use up. I made it exactly to recipe, using half golden and half dark raisins. Admittedly it wasn't the prettiest pie I've ever seen come out of the oven, and we were unsure how to tell if it was done. But we let it bake 50 minutes, cool on a rack for about 10 mins, then popped it in the fridge for about an hour. It was VERY good, and the perfect dessert to follow the really spicy dinner we had (Sausage & Chicken Etouffee) -- it cooled off our palates nicely. :) The pie was not nearly as sweet as I was worried it may be after reading a few reviews, and I have no idea how folks are getting a dry texture as mine was very moist (almost runny, but not in an unappetizing way). And I loved how flaky the crust came out, I had figured with such a wet filling, it may be soggy, but it wasn't at all! We'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I have found I switch up white vinegar in recipes for cider vinegar. I also grind my raisins in the blender first too, the flavor is throughout the whole pie. I love to switch recipes to a blender recipe with all ingredients so will try that with this. Top with a few chopped raisins. Mix the light and dark raisins would look nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Benson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I am not sure what I did wrong but both me and my husband did not like this at all it was too dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Surprisingly very good! Everyone who tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Flavor was very good but must've missed something as the texture was not custard-like in the slightest and wasn't smooth as it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
GREAT pie!! Im not sure how it could be dry.... I dont add the full cup of sugar, I think a little sweet. I like to add a little more raisins, golden & dark raisins. A MUST try. VERY easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Wow what a surprise, Excellent. Everyone loved this cake. Next time I will add less raisins but, that is the only change. A winner in our house and among our friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
Easy to make and an excellent and unique desert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vallygoil
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Best Pie! We have had this every Holiday season since I was a little girl. It is now asked for all year round by my friends who have had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vallygoil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States