Norwegian Skolebrod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is a very common cake here in Norway - you get them in all bakeries. Skolebrød really means "school bread". I have no idea why it's called that as kids aren't allowed to eat such sweets at school. However, there's a major difference between how we make them compared to the recipe: Here we add the thick vanilla custard before we bake them, not after. After you've rolled the buns, let them rise - then you can easily make quite a big dent in each bun. Fill with the custard, but not to much or it will run over the sides of the bun and make a mess. Don't worry though, if you're like me and like a lot of filling. The custard will puff and fill more than you think. After the skolebrods are baked, chill them somewhat, put on icing (powdered sugar + egg whites) and dip in shredded coconut. Yummy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ridiculina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I have been searching for this recipe in US measures for years! Thank You,Thank You,Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I love this recipe, I've made it several times now, and it is always a hit at Christmas. I fill mine with vanilla pudding. The only thing I have changed is that I set the oven to 375 degrees, not 475 degrees. At the higher temperature the bottoms of the rolls burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Delicious! A very straight forward recipe that was easy to follow. A bit of effort, but worth it. I married into a Norwegian family and since have tried to learn a little norwegian cooking. I love the use of cardamom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BN61079
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I did not care for this recipe. These rolls are hard- tough almost. 100% whole wheat flour is probably the reason. There is no way you can fill them with pastry cream- the best you can do is top them with it. My one deviation from the recipe was to dip them in a powdered sugar glaze, then unsweetened coconut before attempting the pastry cream "filling" (which by the way, is very good- I had no issues with the recipe for pastry cream.)I had seen this glaze/coconut in every other online recipe for skolebrod. While the toppings I added and the cream were good, the roll underneath was so dry, so unflavorful (even with the cardamon-which I love) that there is no way I would ever attempt this recipe again. Too expensive- too time consuming, and now I am left with 22 rolls no one will eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was the werdiest thing I have tasted in awhile. My sister and I busted out laughing because the taste was so strange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
I lived in Norway for a while and absolutely adored these buns. your dough is excellent. The ones I encountered had the cream in a depression in the center. The rest of the top was glazed and covered in shreaded coconut, making the whole thing resemble a puffy fried egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I made this recipe as written, and while the result was OK... the bottoms of the breads were overcooked, and it was all together more 'bready' than it should be. I made a second batch with modifications, and it got rave reviews from my dinner guests and office the next day. (I resubmitted my version with modifications to allrecipes, and perhaps it will be published.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

How to Proof Yeast

Learn simple tricks for proofing yeast to make breads & pastries light and airy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States