Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I was raised on Lefsa. I had lost my recipe when my mother past away. Now I will be able to keep the tradition alive. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Thank You as the other reviewer I had lost this family tradition. Exactly the way I remember making with my dad. Favorite was butter and brown sugar, Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
lefsa. the best of all norwegian foods. I've made lefsa so many times its not funny. its abetter ideanot to stack the lefsa though, because it may stick togeter. use some wax paper in between each piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love and was also raised on Lefsa! I've been making it for my kids for a few years now and butter with brown sugar is our favourite. Just wanted to thank you for the keep your dough balls cooled to prevent sticking. Happy Lefsa making everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My Whole family LOVES lefsa! The kids like it with butter & sugar (brown or white) or cinnamin & sugar, then they roll it up. It goes fast! My Husband's Grandmother makes this & every time we go out to visit her we bring back bunches of it. It stores very well in the freezer for even a year. She says it is very time consuming & you need a big nonstick frying pan or maybe a wok. She bought a special lefsa pan online though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love Lefsa this recipes is great. I was taught to us the mash potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour for every cup of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love Lefsa, and can not find it in southern California. It might be interesting to use garlic mashed potatoes, because garlic is a natural preservative which might add shelf or refrigerator life. Also it my might be interesting to try red potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe using leftover mashed potatoes. Mix everything while the potatoes are hot to mix easier, then I fridge it overnight. I omitted the cream and used milk and butter. It worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make Lefse every year and this was the best batch by far. I followed the recipe exactly, but after I take my lefse off the grill I actually stack the pieces between damp flour sack towels, after they are moist I stack them, put them in a zip lock bag and freeze them. They only take around 20 minutes to thaw and turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. I have helped my grandmother make this every year since I was 10. She recently passed away and the recipe passed with her. I will be carrying on the tradition in my family so I thank you very much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States