Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I was raised on Lefsa. I had lost my recipe when my mother past away. Now I will be able to keep the tradition alive. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
lefsa. the best of all norwegian foods. I've made lefsa so many times its not funny. its abetter ideanot to stack the lefsa though, because it may stick togeter. use some wax paper in between each piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Thank You as the other reviewer I had lost this family tradition. Exactly the way I remember making with my dad. Favorite was butter and brown sugar, Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love Lefsa this recipes is great. I was taught to us the mash potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour for every cup of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The correct Norwegian spelling is Lefse not Lefsa. Lef-sa is how it may look phonetically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My Whole family LOVES lefsa! The kids like it with butter & sugar (brown or white) or cinnamin & sugar, then they roll it up. It goes fast! My Husband's Grandmother makes this & every time we go out to visit her we bring back bunches of it. It stores very well in the freezer for even a year. She says it is very time consuming & you need a big nonstick frying pan or maybe a wok. She bought a special lefsa pan online though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The lefsa was great however it made WAY too much!!!! I made it for a party and had tons of leftovers. This makes enough for about 18-20. Other than that it was delicious and everyone loved it! We sprinkled with butter cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe using leftover mashed potatoes. Mix everything while the potatoes are hot to mix easier, then I fridge it overnight. I omitted the cream and used milk and butter. It worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is exactly how my grandfather made lefse, I used to love watching him in action! BTW to the reviewer that thought it might be a good idea to try garlic mashed potatoes or red potatoes: No, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love Lefsa, and can not find it in southern California. It might be interesting to use garlic mashed potatoes, because garlic is a natural preservative which might add shelf or refrigerator life. Also it my might be interesting to try red potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States