Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. I was raised on Lefsa. I had lost my recipe when my mother past away. Now I will be able to keep the tradition alive. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
Thank You as the other reviewer I had lost this family tradition. Exactly the way I remember making with my dad. Favorite was butter and brown sugar, Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
lefsa. the best of all norwegian foods. I've made lefsa so many times its not funny. its abetter ideanot to stack the lefsa though, because it may stick togeter. use some wax paper in between each piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love and was also raised on Lefsa! I've been making it for my kids for a few years now and butter with brown sugar is our favourite. Just wanted to thank you for the keep your dough balls cooled to prevent sticking. Happy Lefsa making everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The lefsa was great however it made WAY too much!!!! I made it for a party and had tons of leftovers. This makes enough for about 18-20. Other than that it was delicious and everyone loved it! We sprinkled with butter cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe. I haven't made it yet but I'm sure it will be great. I also had lefsa when I was little. They sell it here in upper Michigan, but I think it is too thick. I bought some and tried it with cinnamon and sugar but it wasn't like I remembered. I will have to try it again with my own lefsa and roll them out thin. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The correct Norwegian spelling is Lefse not Lefsa. Lef-sa is how it may look phonetically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My Whole family LOVES lefsa! The kids like it with butter & sugar (brown or white) or cinnamin & sugar, then they roll it up. It goes fast! My Husband's Grandmother makes this & every time we go out to visit her we bring back bunches of it. It stores very well in the freezer for even a year. She says it is very time consuming & you need a big nonstick frying pan or maybe a wok. She bought a special lefsa pan online though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love Lefsa this recipes is great. I was taught to us the mash potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour for every cup of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love Lefsa, and can not find it in southern California. It might be interesting to use garlic mashed potatoes, because garlic is a natural preservative which might add shelf or refrigerator life. Also it my might be interesting to try red potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States