Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. I have helped my grandmother make this every year since I was 10. She recently passed away and the recipe passed with her. I will be carrying on the tradition in my family so I thank you very much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make Lefse every year and this was the best batch by far. I followed the recipe exactly, but after I take my lefse off the grill I actually stack the pieces between damp flour sack towels, after they are moist I stack them, put them in a zip lock bag and freeze them. They only take around 20 minutes to thaw and turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe using leftover mashed potatoes. Mix everything while the potatoes are hot to mix easier, then I fridge it overnight. I omitted the cream and used milk and butter. It worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love Lefsa, and can not find it in southern California. It might be interesting to use garlic mashed potatoes, because garlic is a natural preservative which might add shelf or refrigerator life. Also it my might be interesting to try red potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love Lefsa this recipes is great. I was taught to us the mash potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour for every cup of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My Whole family LOVES lefsa! The kids like it with butter & sugar (brown or white) or cinnamin & sugar, then they roll it up. It goes fast! My Husband's Grandmother makes this & every time we go out to visit her we bring back bunches of it. It stores very well in the freezer for even a year. She says it is very time consuming & you need a big nonstick frying pan or maybe a wok. She bought a special lefsa pan online though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The correct Norwegian spelling is Lefse not Lefsa. Lef-sa is how it may look phonetically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe. I haven't made it yet but I'm sure it will be great. I also had lefsa when I was little. They sell it here in upper Michigan, but I think it is too thick. I bought some and tried it with cinnamon and sugar but it wasn't like I remembered. I will have to try it again with my own lefsa and roll them out thin. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
The lefsa was great however it made WAY too much!!!! I made it for a party and had tons of leftovers. This makes enough for about 18-20. Other than that it was delicious and everyone loved it! We sprinkled with butter cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love and was also raised on Lefsa! I've been making it for my kids for a few years now and butter with brown sugar is our favourite. Just wanted to thank you for the keep your dough balls cooled to prevent sticking. Happy Lefsa making everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States