Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were a pain in the butt to make, but worth it. Haven't had these since I was little and had to make them for my family that has never heard of them. I'll make again, second time will be easier I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My family never mashes the potato they always use a ricer it makes it easier to blend the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: Tarawa Terrace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Thank you for this recipe. I have helped my grandmother make this every year since I was 10. She recently passed away and the recipe passed with her. I will be carrying on the tradition in my family so I thank you very much for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make Lefse every year and this was the best batch by far. I followed the recipe exactly, but after I take my lefse off the grill I actually stack the pieces between damp flour sack towels, after they are moist I stack them, put them in a zip lock bag and freeze them. They only take around 20 minutes to thaw and turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe using leftover mashed potatoes. Mix everything while the potatoes are hot to mix easier, then I fridge it overnight. I omitted the cream and used milk and butter. It worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I love Lefsa, and can not find it in southern California. It might be interesting to use garlic mashed potatoes, because garlic is a natural preservative which might add shelf or refrigerator life. Also it my might be interesting to try red potatoes also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love Lefsa this recipes is great. I was taught to us the mash potatoes and 1/2 cup of flour for every cup of mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My Whole family LOVES lefsa! The kids like it with butter & sugar (brown or white) or cinnamin & sugar, then they roll it up. It goes fast! My Husband's Grandmother makes this & every time we go out to visit her we bring back bunches of it. It stores very well in the freezer for even a year. She says it is very time consuming & you need a big nonstick frying pan or maybe a wok. She bought a special lefsa pan online though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
The correct Norwegian spelling is Lefse not Lefsa. Lef-sa is how it may look phonetically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I am so glad I found this recipe. I haven't made it yet but I'm sure it will be great. I also had lefsa when I was little. They sell it here in upper Michigan, but I think it is too thick. I bought some and tried it with cinnamon and sugar but it wasn't like I remembered. I will have to try it again with my own lefsa and roll them out thin. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States