Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I grew up eating Lefse even though not Norwegian. My mom used leftover mashed potatoes and cooked them on the griddle our stove had. We used the Lefse to wrap up leftover turkey, stuffing and cranberry sauce sort of like a Burrito! We never had it with butter and sugar and I will have to try that next time although they disappear so fast we don't really need another way to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It's pretty close to Moms recipe. We use a ricer for the potatoes, better chances of no lumps. We make it in November so we can just put the rices potatos outside on the deck to cool. The best grill to use is a lefsa grill. Mom found it heated the best, the everyday grills weren't hot enough. In our family we only use butter and roll it up. (I sneakily dip it in my gravy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
thank you my grandmother and I always had lutefiske and lefsa on Christmas eve , she is gone now and I never had the recipe till now ...im going to go make some awesome lefsa now ..oh yea I don't care if its spelled wrong kk calico...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Some helpful hints for this recipe: Melt the butter in the microwave, add the cream (or milk) and when heated, add the sugar and salt (which can be reduced to half a tablespoon) to this mixture, then to the mashed potatoes. I find it easier to make long rolls of the dough (about 1 1/2 in. in diameter if using a griddle). Cut off slices about a half inch thick. This method is faster and makes them easier to roll out. It's also important to stack the baked lefses between dishtowels to keep them soft. We love these and they are a must for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners! Ch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
O M G ! This turned out fabulous ! I now make extra of this recipe, roll into balls & freeze. Whenever I get a craving for cheese lefse I simply take a few out of the freezer the night before & fry them up for breakfast ! YUM ! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
They were good. I grilled them like the recipe said, but the grill marks were dark. Maybe I should have cooked on a lower heat bc the sugar in the lefsa smelled and tasted burnt. I would probably try again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonder Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
finally, a delisous lefsa recipe! my grandmother use to make this all the time. we'd spred it with butter and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These are the Best Thing Ever! Delicious, super easy to work with.... AWESOME soft wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These turned out delicious!! The only change I made was substituting milk for the whipping cream to cut some of the calories. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is exactly how my grandfather made lefse, I used to love watching him in action! BTW to the reviewer that thought it might be a good idea to try garlic mashed potatoes or red potatoes: No, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States