Norwegian Potato Lefsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
thank you my grandmother and I always had lutefiske and lefsa on Christmas eve , she is gone now and I never had the recipe till now ...im going to go make some awesome lefsa now ..oh yea I don't care if its spelled wrong kk calico...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Some helpful hints for this recipe: Melt the butter in the microwave, add the cream (or milk) and when heated, add the sugar and salt (which can be reduced to half a tablespoon) to this mixture, then to the mashed potatoes. I find it easier to make long rolls of the dough (about 1 1/2 in. in diameter if using a griddle). Cut off slices about a half inch thick. This method is faster and makes them easier to roll out. It's also important to stack the baked lefses between dishtowels to keep them soft. We love these and they are a must for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners! Ch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
O M G ! This turned out fabulous ! I now make extra of this recipe, roll into balls & freeze. Whenever I get a craving for cheese lefse I simply take a few out of the freezer the night before & fry them up for breakfast ! YUM ! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
They were good. I grilled them like the recipe said, but the grill marks were dark. Maybe I should have cooked on a lower heat bc the sugar in the lefsa smelled and tasted burnt. I would probably try again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonder Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
finally, a delisous lefsa recipe! my grandmother use to make this all the time. we'd spred it with butter and sprinkle it with cinnamon and sugar. Pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
These are the Best Thing Ever! Delicious, super easy to work with.... AWESOME soft wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
These turned out delicious!! The only change I made was substituting milk for the whipping cream to cut some of the calories. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is exactly how my grandfather made lefse, I used to love watching him in action! BTW to the reviewer that thought it might be a good idea to try garlic mashed potatoes or red potatoes: No, please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were a pain in the butt to make, but worth it. Haven't had these since I was little and had to make them for my family that has never heard of them. I'll make again, second time will be easier I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Julian, California, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
My family never mashes the potato they always use a ricer it makes it easier to blend the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnsonmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: Tarawa Terrace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States