Norwegian Potato Klub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Good basic recipe. As a full blooded Norwegian growing up in Norway I would suggest halving the all purpose flour and doing the rest of it with barley flour. You can also use oatmeal to make them heartier. It is important to squeeze as much water out at possible. Another suggestion would be to have rutabaga cut and sliced in the broth as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanne Lothe Lucier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
My father made a broth using a ham bone, onions, carrots, and celery. He then placed a ham cube in the center of the dumpling. Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
My Norweigian great grandmother made this receipe for her husband and 12 children growing up on a farm in Minnesota. Klub (we call it KRUB). I was raised on this stuff, which is my favorite food in the world. Just a note: We eat it exactly the same was the first day, but the second day is even better. I fill a frying pan with about a cup or so of milk. As the milk is warming on a medium burner, cut the potato Klub into bite size pieces. I just slice with a knife over pan. Cook until the milk has formed a "gravy" consistancy, stirring constantly. Serve on plates with dabs of butter. Yummy! I can't wait to make this again!!! Thank you for sharing this great receipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
We call it 'FreskaKrub.' Make a dent to put in diced salt pork & heavily pepper before sealing it. Boil for 1 hour (about the size of a baseball) Serve with butter. Make the dumplings with WET HANDS..rinse after each one! Wonderful fried in butter the next day. Someone said 'remove the salt pork'??? Sacrilege!! I've just set down to wait for my 'Freskies' to finish cooking. I thought I'd add a few notes to this review. For those of you who didn't have a mom or grandma to tell you a few secrets about cooking this wonderful dish: Do this next to the sink, where you can have a slow stream of water to rinse your hands well. Your hands need to be really wet to avoid sticky messes. Work Quickly. After every 2 or so dumplings are added to the pot, use a wide spatula to keep the dumplings from sticking to the pan. Soon they will float, but 'til then, keep using the spatula. Have a butter knife nearby when mixing the dough. You'll need it to scrape away the thick dough from your hands. I try to do as much as I can with one hand, leaving the other free to add flour. REMOVE ALL RINGS AND BRACELETS (don't believe me-try it-you'll see why) Have an extra pan of water simmering on the stove to add hot water if necessary. I'm not so sure about the ratio of potatoes to flour in the recipe. This is a 'by feel' recipe. We don't use baking powder. Clean all surfaces and yourself WELL Nothing worse than dried paste stuck to hairs on your hand & arm. Practice to get the feel-not too sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
When I lived in Norway in Sor Trondelag, the Klubb was made with Barley flour and the shredded potatoes were first rinsed (get some the starch out). the Salt Pork was served on the side. The Klubb was served with a sauce made with Geitost (brown goat cheese), hot salt pork bits and fat, and, for some, syrup! with boiled potatoes and rutabages on the side. Yum! it was delicious on a cold winter evening after skiing all day. the brunost sauce was basically a thin white sauce with plenty of shredded melted brown goat cheese (to taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
Oh gosh was I excited when I seen this! My Grandma Dole use to make this all the time while I was growing up. After she passed, nobody knew how to make it, my Mom never learned! This is definately a good Norwegian recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
My grandmother put a small piece of salt pork in the center of each dumpling before boiling. She didnt use bacon at all. They are done, when they float to the top of the pot of water. Maybe mine are smaller, but mine are done in about 30 minutes. I cut them into chunks, discard the salt pork, brown them in butter, and serve with additional butter for dipping. We called this Pault when I grew up, and it is our favorite breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is similiar to the recipe I grew up with. We didnt use baking powder though and instead of dropping the dumplings in boiling water, we actually put them in cheese cloth and so you can make larger portions. We put bacon in the middle and salt and pepper. It definitely hands down is even better the next day fried for breakfast. Oh and I grew up calling it potato crub. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doolittlenomnoms

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Excellent Recipe, the potato balls were firm and tasty. Next time I will try to squeeze more of the water out since they tended to fall apart when I first put them in the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is a comfort food for anyone with a Norwegian heritage. The only difference is we added ground cloves to the potato mixture, and served with butter. She is right when saying that they are great the next day.... fry them up in a frying pan with butter and they are even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States