Norwegian Potato Klub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This recipe is so close to the one my Mother-in-laws Sister made. Her name was Dagmar. (Spelling maybe wrong, but you get the idea) Norwegian!!!! She too used the raw and cooked potatoes. She put side pork in the center. She boiled them in salt water. While waiting for those to cook, she fried up bacon, crumbled it up and then added some canned milk. I didn't think that I even wanted to try them. My Husband sliced his up in thin slices, poured the bacon and canned milk over the slices and then sprinkled sugar over the top of that! I was shocked to say the least. I did try it with the bacon/canned milk. It was wonderful. My Husband said try the sugar, and I'm like "no way!" I did try the bacon/canned milk. I have no say that it was the best meal that I have ever eaten. I still won't use the sugar, but I also don't like brown sugar, pineapple and cloves on ham! Yes we had left overs and we fried them in butter and those were super. I have looked all over trying to find this recipe. Thank you so much for posting it. I'm sure my Hubby will thank you too. I am from Danish descent and have lots of experience with raw potatoes. I'm going to make this recipe both ways and let you know they fare in my Family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Norman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I have never used bacon, only salt pork. I would never eat it only boiled. Potatoes, flour, salt, salt pork. Slice salt pork into tiny pieces, do not cook. Place potato/flour mixture in the palm of your hand, place about a tablespoon of the pork into center and make a ball of the mixture (so the pork in the the middle of the ball; then gently place in a pot of boiling water. Cook approx. 1 hour on a simmer. Remove and leave to cool. Keep in refrigerator, or wrap and freeze. To cook, slice the ball into small 1"x2" pieces including the salt pork that is inside. Fry in small amount of oil until lightly browned. Salt and Pepper and eat. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Many here in Norway like to use half and half of boiled and raw potatoes. Also most have the rutbaga in the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I always make mine with salt pork in the middle- I've tried bacon but it just is not the same. We also make cream gravy off the salt pork drippings- and I make plenty so we can use it on the fried Klubs in the morning. I like the idea of using a 'broth' to boil them in and the use of barley flour- I've never done this but will try that the next time I make this. I've found that this really is an acquired taste and those that have not grown up eating don't always appreciate the taste/texture of Klub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
My Norwegian grandmother and her sister called them Coump sp? and we put a piece of salt pork in the center. Like a brick in your stomach after eating a couple but sooo good. And we also loved them fried the next day. Have not made them since my kids were little. Think I may have to make some this week. Thanks for the reminder of a wonderful old family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Hands-down, my family's all-time favorite meal! My Norwegian grandmother has made this since she was a little girl growing up in Midsund, Norway. Her variations were: Boil hamhocks in water to create a nice strong pork stock. She always ground the potatoes with an old hand-crank meat grinder (I did this for many years, but now I use the grinder attachment for my KitchenAid mixer.) She also added a small piece of bacon to the center of each ball (we don't eat the bacon in the center, but it adds to the flavor). I agree with other posters that you must drain as much water as possible, make them no bigger than baseball size, and they are done when they float to the top. We also serve them up along with the hamhocks (grandma never wasted anything), rutabega and carrots. Lastly, the "fat" (as she appropriately called it) that we pour over them once cooked consisted of sauteed bacon pieces & onions mixed with melted butter. It's certainly NOT heart-healthy, but my 30+ member family indulges in this delicious treat at least once a year and I make enough for everyone to take home some leftovers. :) Note: (this I learned from my father-in-law who is a career chef) you can save money by skipping the hamhocks & making a "pork" stock with equal parts beef & chicken bullion or broth. I toss in a few pieces of bacon to the broth to kick up the salty pork flavor. It's not exactly the same, but it works well in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I LOVE klub! My grandpa is full blooded Norwegian, and my grandma learned this from his mother. I grew up eating this all the time as a kid. We just use potatoes, flour and eggs in our recipe. Mix it, boil it, and cover it with butter and gravy. I think I might have to make some tonight! lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Just like grandma's... wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Being of Norwegian decent all of my family members had recipes for this, however my grandmother mixed pork sausage and bacon in the center, boiled them, then she would put them on a baking sheet in the oven for about an hour covered in the bacon and sausage drippings, it got rid of the excess water, then butter and salt and pepper to taste.It is about the best thing ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States