Norwegian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm not Norwegian and I've never been to Norway, but these are ah-mah-zing! I used just pork because that's what I had. So delicious! I could have used a little more of the spices and will next time, but we prefer bold flavors in our house. The gravy is delicious, I use it for other things. (Try it with minced mushroom thrown in with the onion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very tasty. I used more roux, cream and a bit more spices though. I like lots of sauce :) I also used onion powder in place of actual onions (was being lazy) tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This year we had a new addition to our Christmas dinner table - my daughter's boyfriend, a Norwegian. She passed along to me that for Norwegians, Christmas just wouldn't be Christmas without Norwegian meatballs and lefse, and tho' I wanted to make his first Christmas away from home special, I knew nothing about either. After much research looking at a zillion different recipes, I finally arrived at "special order" lefse and this recipe for Norwegian meatballs. This was a challenge for me with our Italian traditions - this was not my idea of a meatball and I was apprehensive they'd never compare to his mom's and grandma's. And the fact that this was a profound part of their Christmas tradition was not lost on me. I was nervous. We kept the meatballs and lefse a secret until we were all seated and I'm telling you, I will never forget his reaction when he learned he would not be without them - darn near brought tears to my eyes, the truth be told. Even more profound was the genuine look of pure pleasure and delight as he was eating them. But for those of you simply interested in knowing how these meatballs tasted - he pronounced them delicious and exactly what he was used to! High praise indeed from a Norwegian that this recipe, these meatballs, are the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by sparkytoo
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Thank You, Jeane! This is a 30+* recipe if I ever tasted one! My dyslexia kicked in so I put 1 pound of beef and 2 pounds of pork. However, my Beloved Personal Food Critic (a.k.a Hubby) took a very tentative bite out of these and said "YUM!" (and promptly finished 30 of the little suckers in one sitting!) High praise, indeed! And, I could swear I heard my Norwegian grandmother clap and cheer from her Final Resting Place because I am finally starting to master her recipes (or ones similar to them) (but it could have been the cats smacking each other and Merping in surprise whenever they got wallopped). Either way, it's an awesome, and simple (although rolling over 160 little balls took forever) recipe! Next time I might just half the recipe (Now I need to think of how to freeze them ... Thanks again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The nutmeg in this recipe was the winning ingredient for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is good - serious comfort food. I enjoyed the meatballs much more than the gravy, which was a little bland (but I think its supposed to be). I found myself wanting to add herbs to it, and probably would do more of that next time. As it was, I threw chopped parsley all over everything and enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was totally awesome! I adjusted it a bit due to certain things I had on-hand vs what was called for in the recipe... I had no fresh onions so I used onion powder and I used italian bread crumbs. Also, I baked the meatballs in a 375 oven on two separate baking sheets. I used half & half instead of cream and it turned out wonderfully. I had no all-spice so I used ground cloves. My kids and husband loved it. We served it on top of 3/4" pieces of boiled potato. I pan-seared some fresh asparagus with garlic powder and coarse ground salt and served it alongside and put a couple tablespoons of lingonberry preserves on the plate. Mmmmmmm good. This will be a staple recipe for the colder months of the season. Everyone raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
great, I add some shredded cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These were so wonderful!I only used beef and they still turned out so delicious! Even my two year old neice who hates meat loved them and keeps asking for more "cow". I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I only had 1/2 & 1/2 so I used that in place of the heavy cream. I added a pince of each spice to the sauce as well and it was excellent! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States