Norwegian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This year we had a new addition to our Christmas dinner table - my daughter's boyfriend, a Norwegian. She passed along to me that for Norwegians, Christmas just wouldn't be Christmas without Norwegian meatballs and lefse, and tho' I wanted to make his first Christmas away from home special, I knew nothing about either. After much research looking at a zillion different recipes, I finally arrived at "special order" lefse and this recipe for Norwegian meatballs. This was a challenge for me with our Italian traditions - this was not my idea of a meatball and I was apprehensive they'd never compare to his mom's and grandma's. And the fact that this was a profound part of their Christmas tradition was not lost on me. I was nervous. We kept the meatballs and lefse a secret until we were all seated and I'm telling you, I will never forget his reaction when he learned he would not be without them - darn near brought tears to my eyes, the truth be told. Even more profound was the genuine look of pure pleasure and delight as he was eating them. But for those of you simply interested in knowing how these meatballs tasted - he pronounced them delicious and exactly what he was used to! High praise indeed from a Norwegian that this recipe, these meatballs, are the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I absolutely love this recipe! The only change I made was to extend the cook time about 5 minutes. My husband raves about these meatballs, and that's coming from someone who's mother is Norwegian and grew up on them. This recipes makes a lot of meatballs. I froze a bunch with a little bit of the gravy in small freezer-safe containers...they thaw perfectly. This dish is normally served with boiled/baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparkytoo
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Thank You, Jeane! This is a 30+* recipe if I ever tasted one! My dyslexia kicked in so I put 1 pound of beef and 2 pounds of pork. However, my Beloved Personal Food Critic (a.k.a Hubby) took a very tentative bite out of these and said "YUM!" (and promptly finished 30 of the little suckers in one sitting!) High praise, indeed! And, I could swear I heard my Norwegian grandmother clap and cheer from her Final Resting Place because I am finally starting to master her recipes (or ones similar to them) (but it could have been the cats smacking each other and Merping in surprise whenever they got wallopped). Either way, it's an awesome, and simple (although rolling over 160 little balls took forever) recipe! Next time I might just half the recipe (Now I need to think of how to freeze them ... Thanks again! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
These were so wonderful!I only used beef and they still turned out so delicious! Even my two year old neice who hates meat loved them and keeps asking for more "cow". I will definately be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
The nutmeg in this recipe was the winning ingredient for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Very tasty. I used more roux, cream and a bit more spices though. I like lots of sauce :) I also used onion powder in place of actual onions (was being lazy) tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was totally awesome! I adjusted it a bit due to certain things I had on-hand vs what was called for in the recipe... I had no fresh onions so I used onion powder and I used italian bread crumbs. Also, I baked the meatballs in a 375 oven on two separate baking sheets. I used half & half instead of cream and it turned out wonderfully. I had no all-spice so I used ground cloves. My kids and husband loved it. We served it on top of 3/4" pieces of boiled potato. I pan-seared some fresh asparagus with garlic powder and coarse ground salt and served it alongside and put a couple tablespoons of lingonberry preserves on the plate. Mmmmmmm good. This will be a staple recipe for the colder months of the season. Everyone raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Miller Dodson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious! I used two pounds of ground beef - not two pounds plus one pound of ground pork - forgot the sugar (Oops) - but these are wonderful, wonderful! Made plenty - we may have meatballs in Pita pckets tomorrow. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Tastes just like the meatballs served at Syttende Mai celebrations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I'm not Norwegian and I've never been to Norway, but these are ah-mah-zing! I used just pork because that's what I had. So delicious! I could have used a little more of the spices and will next time, but we prefer bold flavors in our house. The gravy is delicious, I use it for other things. (Try it with minced mushroom thrown in with the onion)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States