Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Still making it since 2010. 10 more pounds today. Can't get enough. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is the real deal, just like grandma used to make. Any recipe without real potatoes or butter won't taste like the Norwegian pioneers used to make! Here are a few tricks I've learned to make it easier. Use a griddle-style pizza oven for cooking it (no need to flip). Also, a food processor can be used instead of a ricer, as long as you puree all the clumps out. Cake flour (Silk brand) helps give it a smooth texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
just like what my great grandma made. Her filling of choice was whipped cream, sugar and cinnamon. It tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Um, you need at least 2 more cups of flour for this recipe. My dough turned out wetter than cookies dough. Stuck to my fingers like mad. Tasted good...once I added 2 more cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This lefse was impossible to roll out! It was way to wet. Here is a suggestion: Follow the recipe exactly, but at least double the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gailabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Great recipe, wouldn't change a thing. I did refrigerate the dough before adding the flour the next day though. Very tender! Freezes well also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
make sure to use mealy potatoes (bakers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the first lefse recipe I have tried but everyone who ate it loved it- including my Norwegian grandmother! I only used about 6 lbs of potatoes. I served it rolled up with butter and cinnamon sugar- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinMichele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is just the way my Norwegian grandmother taught me to make Lefse - but I just use 5 pounds of potatoes. Butter and sugar, for sure, and jelly! Lingonberry if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Beasley
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Fabulous! I couldn't find my grandmother's recipe (the one we have used every year since I was a kid), so I used this one... it was perfect! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Beasley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States