Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe sent me back to our own family lefse recipe with my tail between my legs. And I had the highest hopes it would turn out pillowy soft lefse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very much like the original lefse that I had tasted back long ago. Glad that I read the reviews and used only 5 lbs. of potatoes instead of 10 lbs. Turned on the Christmas music and started up the griddle. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Tastes just like my Great Aunt Vera used to make. MUST add at least 2 more cups of flour. I only used half of the potato mixture and froze the other half. I added more cream also. Make sure you refridgerate the "dough" before rolling. It won't work warm. So worth all the work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Still making it since 2010. 10 more pounds today. Can't get enough. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This is the real deal, just like grandma used to make. Any recipe without real potatoes or butter won't taste like the Norwegian pioneers used to make! Here are a few tricks I've learned to make it easier. Use a griddle-style pizza oven for cooking it (no need to flip). Also, a food processor can be used instead of a ricer, as long as you puree all the clumps out. Cake flour (Silk brand) helps give it a smooth texture too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
just like what my great grandma made. Her filling of choice was whipped cream, sugar and cinnamon. It tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Um, you need at least 2 more cups of flour for this recipe. My dough turned out wetter than cookies dough. Stuck to my fingers like mad. Tasted good...once I added 2 more cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This lefse was impossible to roll out! It was way to wet. Here is a suggestion: Follow the recipe exactly, but at least double the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gailabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Great recipe, wouldn't change a thing. I did refrigerate the dough before adding the flour the next day though. Very tender! Freezes well also. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
make sure to use mealy potatoes (bakers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States