Norwegian Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
great tasting cake! I love hazelnuts so I added nutella to the glaze as well as made a middle using marscapone cheese, powdered sugar and fangelico. Split the cake in half and spread. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Awesome cake! I made it with almonds instead of Hazlenuts because that is all i had. I ate it for breakfast with coffee and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is incredible-lots of flavor and not too sweet. I used almonds; pistachio or pecans would also be quite good. In fact, maybe even peanuts would make an interesting variation. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Awesome! Will try with other nuts as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
One of the best, quickest and child friendliest recipes ever. My kids and me loved it, we just ate it in 2 hours, this says a lot, they usually dont like sweet stuff. The kids I babysit love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANA BOSKMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and he rated it as better than German chocolate, which has been his favorite since I have known him! Thanks for the new and interesting recipe. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Wow! I can not believe more members and visitors to allrecipes.com have not tried this keeper. I found it easy to make, great looking and great tasting. The chocolate glaze compliments this nicely nutty cake in such a pretty way that it makes it wonderful for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLOZEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deal, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Eady a very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake is "so friggin' good" (to quote my husband). By far the best way I have found to use up the huge bagful of hazelnuts that my mother-in-law dropped off a few weeks ago. Although shelling the nuts takes a bit, the cake itself is quick and easy to throw together. I had wanted to make the glaze as well, but realized too late that I didn't have any cream, so instead I added a half cup of mini chocolate chips to the batter and left the finished cake plain. I did not have high expectations when I took it out of the oven because it looked really hard on the top, but after it cooled and we tasted it, it is sooooooooooo good. I cooked mine a half hour and having left it a little tiny bit underdone made it almost have a "brownie-like" consistency. Very good...one of the best cakes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is ridiculously good. I whipped it up last-minute after being asked to bring a dessert to an impromptu going-away party, as these were the ingredients that I had on hand. I brought it to the party where it was devoured, and immediately made another one the following day that we DIDN'T need to share! My only adjustment was to add organic hazelnut extract to up the hazelnut flavor, about 2-3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States