Norwegian Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
I was looking for a flat bread that was like Gyro bread. Cooking this in the oven made more of a cracker, so I decided to try it on a hot cast iron griddle on the stove. They came out wonderfully!! Just what I was looking for. I would up the salt to 1 teaspoon, a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
A good little, simple recipe. On my second batch, I left it in the oven for an extra tenminutes, and they became like little crackers that can keep for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I like my flatbrod crispy and I found the baking time for this recipe a little short so after I baked them for 10 min. at 350 degrees, I put them all into a slow (150 degree) oven for an additional 45 minutes to make them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
YUM!!! I follow this recipe exactly but cook like pancakes on a griddle just because it's faster. They are crunchy outside and a little more like gyro/pita bread on the inside. Perfect for my Hummus!!! Made several times over, perfect every time. THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I love this recipe, it was so easy to make and delicious! I did change the salt to 1 tsp and I did pan cook/fry them. It took about 3-5 minutes to cook each side and my peices were about 6" in diameter. I am going to experiment with this recipe and add herbs and maybe even cheese next time. I love this healthy alternative to other carb snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this last night and topped it with onions, tomatoes, basil, chesse and spices to make a flat bread pizza. My wife loved it and asked me to make it again, so we can try different toppings. I made the bread as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smita
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Wholesome and satisfying! I made a few changes to make it more festive: ground a pinch each of cloves, cardamom, cinnamon, poppy seeds. Sprinkled the ground spices on top of the bread while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Thank You SO MUCH for this recipe!! I use this as a base. I add garlic powder, onion powder, a little more salt and shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe is so easy and really great! I cooked this along with meatloaf the other night, chopped some onion up and we made meatloaf pizza slices with it. Fantastic!! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
very good fried in pan with oil , alternative to naan when i didnt have time for it to rise cook in pan with chopped fresh garlic to infuse the butter i eliminated the salt from the recipe , but it kind of went back in a bit with the mix of butter and oil i fried it in , served with barley and lentils , flavored with coriander cumin and garlic, was fantastic, hub said it was better than my usual Naan ... hmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Laf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
So easy and so delicious! It is perfect with chicken salad, or any kind of creamy salad. Don't need to increase the salt as some other reviewers said. The recipe is just fine as written by Liz. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States