Norwegian Flat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Excellent recipe. This was a nice crisp bread baked in a stone oven. I used Spelt flour and sesame seeds in it and wow it was the order of the day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daria Sorhaindo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
The first rule of cooking is that the end product tastes "good". The item created must have a quality that those tasting it find it satisfying, enjoyable or complimentary with another item it shares the plate with. Natural, organic, and home-made items must first meet this standard. Unfortunantly, this does not. It has none of the characteristics of Middle-Eastern or Mediterranean flat breads. Its description as a cracker-bread is determinant only by the baking time. The 8 minutes is not remotely accurate with ending up with a flat bread and if you double the time you still do not obtain a cracker. The amount of buttermilk is also understated by 1/3. Even following a suggestion to add spices and seeds left this recipe tasteless and without an enjoyable texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Okay, I changed the recipe plenty, but I loved it so I think it still deserves 5 stars. I doubled the salt, substituted yogurt for buttermilk, and added 1/4 tsp of both garlic and onion powders. I cooked on the stovetop in a non-stick skillet and they were delicious. I think this is a great base recipe that can be altered easily to fit your needs and make a quick, tasty little bread. This will be in constant rotation in my kitchen. Edit: I just used this as a pizza dough and it worked great. The only change I made was upping the garlic and onion powder to a half teaspoon each. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
it is not that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
DEEELICOUS!!! these were so healthy, simple and it's bread which is good because most bread has yeast which is bad for me so I'm really happy I found this recipe. If your one of those people that want more flavor in your food amp up the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobo on your street

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Thank You SO MUCH for this recipe!! I use this as a base. I add garlic powder, onion powder, a little more salt and shredded cheddar cheese. This recipe is so easy and really great! I cooked this along with meatloaf the other night, chopped some onion up and we made meatloaf pizza slices with it. Fantastic!! Thank you again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe! Tastes almost like my mother-in-law's in Norway. I made it one day when I was lonely for Norway, which is often.... It was a great comfort. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
very good fried in pan with oil , alternative to naan when i didnt have time for it to rise cook in pan with chopped fresh garlic to infuse the butter i eliminated the salt from the recipe , but it kind of went back in a bit with the mix of butter and oil i fried it in , served with barley and lentils , flavored with coriander cumin and garlic, was fantastic, hub said it was better than my usual Naan ... hmmm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this last night and topped it with onions, tomatoes, basil, chesse and spices to make a flat bread pizza. My wife loved it and asked me to make it again, so we can try different toppings. I made the bread as is and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Not Bad... I liked making and bakeing this bread. The girl-friend just loves it when she comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleanor-1948

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States