Norwegian Christmas Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I took ideas from a few of the previous reviews to make this cabbage and it was delicious! I used bacon pieces instead of strips, apple cider vinegar and Splenda instead of sugar (Splenda is somewhat sweeter than suger so be careful). I also threw in a vegetable bouillon cube and used less salt; instead of pouring salt on all layer, I salted 2 of 4 layers. I don't think you need as much flour as the recipe calls for; next time, I'll use half. Also, I could have thrown in another head of cabbage after the first head boiled down to even out the juice. Even though there are some things that I would do differently next time, this was still the best cabbage I've made and I've made a lot of cabbage! You can not go wrong with following the recipe verbatim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I have searched for this recipe for years, finding similar but not exactly the flavor or sauce consistency, until now! Excellent as given or without the bacon which is how I made it today to serve with ham. At long last, the right combination, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This is a great cabbage recipe. Since my husband and I are on Weight Watchers, I leave out the bacon and use Splenda instead of the sugar. That cuts the calories, therefore the "Points" and it's still delicious. I like it with a ham slice and some microwaved sweet potatoes for a tasty but simple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Always looking for good recipes for cabbage. Only change, cut up the bacon into bite size pieces. Love the combination of ingredients and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This tastes alot like a cabbage dish my Hungarian grandparents make, however theirs has a orangey-red colouring. Perhaps they add paprika to it? I did make one mistake by using salt instead of the caraway seeds in the layering process. I did mix in a bunch of caraway seeds when I realized my error, and luckily the dish didn't turn out salty. I omitted the bacon just because I felt it wouldn't add all that much to the dish other than fat. The amount of sugar and vinegar in the recipe was just right to achieve the sweet-sour ratio. Another great way to make cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I don't want it to be quite so much like sauerkraut, so rather then shredding the cabbage, I cut it up into larger pieces (bite size or larger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I enjoyed this cabbage very much. The sugar-vinegar mixture is a bit tricky to get just right, but once you do,it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so good with our ham. I used less sugar but otherwise followed the directions as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great! My variation was Apple Cider Vinegar and Chinese Cabbage. I prefer the texture of Chinese cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I didn't have any caraway seed but it still turned out delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States