Norwegian Christmas Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
NO Christmas without this one here up north!! Not in this house at least :) We boil it for several hours though, 3-4 I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veriia
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
It was ok until I started doing the vinegar and sugar. I started with a little of each at a time and it just got worse and worse. I guess this just is not a flavor I like. I would recommend cooking the bacon first to render some of the fat and then add the cabbage because the bacon had chunks of fat remaining after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Good flavor. I put a lid on it and checked it after 20 min. The cabbage was a little mushy. Next time I won't put a lid on the pan and see if it's better. I don't want mushy cabbage, so not sure if 45 min of cooking it would make it mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I had a lot of leftover honey-baked ham, so I cut it up and layered it in the mix. I also substituted celery seed for the caraway seed. This was so delicious that as soon as it was gone, my husband asked me to make another batch! I wish I could have given it 20 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COPPERTOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Before she died, I tried to get my Norwegian grandma to give me her cabbage recipe, but it was just "a little of this, a little of that" and I never felt confident enough to try. I've made this dish twice now, and it is delicious--tastes just like my grandma's. Thank you so much for sharing--it means a lot to me to have this connection to my roots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was really good. It didn't taste like saurkraut It was much milder. I cut up the bacon into little pieces instead of using long strips. Next time I will cook the bacon slightly first because the cabbage finished cooking before the bacon did. If I had used an older cabbage it might have been able to cook longer without going mushy, but if you cook the cabbage long enough to get the bacon done then the cabbage might be a bit mushy like mine was. Still, it tasted so good it was five stars. I took the advice and added the vinegar and suggar a little at a time till it tasted good to me and ended up using all the vinegar and a couple tablespoons less sugar but even with all the sugar I think it would have still been just fine. Everyone liked it. I made it as a side dish along side a whole Scandinavian menu, but if you used sausages in it or big Canadian bacon slices it could even be a main dish. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love, love love this. I have made this at least 5 times and am always delighted by how delicious it is! I don't add quite so much water, i fill my pot about 1/3 full. Turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I just made this last night for my Bunco group, and we loved it!! I used the packaged cole slaw, angel hair style, almost 2 bags. I also cut up the bacon into bite size pieces. But everthing else, by the recipe. Great reviews from us all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I loved this! If you like sauerkraut and Corned Beef & Cabbage type dishes you'll like this, too. I didn't have bacon so used smoked ham instead with fabulous results. I also added onion which was probably unnecessary but I'd do it again. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I cooked the bacon before as I was not sure you were suppose to do that...easy to make and tasted really good. I served this as a side to my Christmas dinner. i dont recommend this for that type of meal. This would be better as a side or condiment to hotdogs or brats (kind of had the sweet saurkraut taste and texture)..I will be making this again. THanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States